Inverness - The Highlands


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Inverness-shire » Inverness
September 6th 2011
Published: September 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

September 6th - 9th -- Inverness
Traveled again on the train from Edinburgh to Inverness. I slept for much of the way -- the rumble of the engines along with the rocking back and forth of the train just lulls me to sleep and I find it almost impossible to keep my eyes open. If someone could find a way to install this in my bedroom, I would pay dearly for it!

We stayed in a lovely B&B called the Bluebell House operated by Margaret and Neil. Inverness straddles the river Ness with some lovely walking paths and bridges. All the restaurants we ate at looked out over the river. One restaurant was in fact called The River - the food was delicious!

We visited a number of places including a scotch distillery. The Benromack Distillery is on the outskirts of the small village of Forres. We had our own private tour and David got my portion of the sample of their “wares” along with a bit more. He bought a bottle to share with his friends.
From Forres, we went to Elgin and visited the Elgin Cathedral. This Cathedral was built in the 12th Century. Like many religious structures, it is now a ruin. However, much of the impressive structure still remains. Standing in such places makes one feel very small, similar to the way I feel when going through the Rocky Mountains. We are truly just specks of sand. I can’t help but think of all the people whose lives revolved around these large buildings. I wonder how they would feel seeing them in such a state. I imagine it would be like me arriving at the Rockies to see them wore down into rolling hills.

On the train ride to Elgin, I struck up a conversation with a woman after her phone rang -- her ring tone was Scottish bag pipes! She told us she had nine children (all grown). I said, “Oh my!” She looked at David and said with a twinkle in her eye, “Aye, you know, those cold Scottish nights.” Her husband is no longer alive 😊

The next day we visited Urquhart Castle. The weather was just perfect -- for visiting an ancient castle -- stormy, windy, rainy, and sunny! I even got a photo with a rainbow in it. Before heading out to see the castle, you can watch a short film on its history. Following the film, the screen lifts, the curtains open onto the most stunning panorama of Urquhart Castle and Lock Ness! Everyone in the room just gasped!

Our stay in Inverness was only three days, there was so much more we would have liked to explore.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Inverness at nightInverness at night
Inverness at night

Inverness Castle in the background


Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 28; qc: 126; dbt: 0.1358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb