My final month


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Inverness-shire » Fort William
September 1st 2006
Published: August 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wow

already here...

What a time it has been!!
Hello from the Highlands of Scotland.

Remember how i said i was reminded of the sights and sounds of the street theater during my time in New Zealand.
My last day in Edinburgh, i watched James the magician and Rodney the escape artist perform. I had seem them perform and tell the same jokes back in New Zealand many months ago.
In February, Rodney picked me out the crowd to help tie/wrap him up in chains. Then i timed him with the escape. Good times

I rolled through Stirling after Edinburgh. Much history there and also the monument to William Wallace along with the old battle sites.

I couldn't wait to get back into the mountains though and my heart ached for them. I hitched out of Stirling and after getting dropped off farther northwest, I just wanted to break free and walk and explore. It felt so good to be out and not pouring money away like you do in towns of the UK. I rolled 7 or 8 miles and came across the west highland way, a trail that snakes through much of western Scotland. I happened to have a few cans of tuna and a bag of pasta so I followed it and the glory of the the Highlands is amazing. I have trekked through glens and moors and mtn passes. I have loved what i have found here so far. The scenery reminds me so much of parts of New Zealand. Every 15 miles or so the trail will hit a pub and an inn down in a valley (glen). So, i was hitting a pub at about lunch time for a few days and that was sweet as. They also served venison burgers with fries to chase the pint.
Not much better than that.

I finally finished the trail and have been in Ft William for a couple of days. Amazing glaciated glens with hanging secret valleys with huge cascading waterfalls are everywhere. Weather finally permitted me to climb the highest mountain in the UK yesterday, Nevis.

Soreness set in this morning after breakfast. I found a grassy area near the river on the edge of town to sleep. Hostels are 25 bucks a night in this country. (40 in london) So i skipped that.

I will climb later today at the rec center here in town and then catch a flick tonight. Its my rest day and i will smash it. A pint and more venison await.

I will head out in the morning to the white sand beaches of the coast. Then it's to one of the islands off the west coast, Skye. Crazy land and geology there. Edge of the earth stuff...

I can't explain how great the lands are here. The people are so friendly and great. The pace of life has slowed so much up here. Now, signs are in both english and gaelic. When i leave here, most signs and such will be in Gaelic only. I thought i was home free with learning languages.

I will talk to you next week. I fly out of Inverness, near Loch Ness.

My journey, as this summer is coming to an end.

Have a fun weekend. Ball season kicks off. Wish i was there boyz. Soon enough...


Love Jonathan

















Advertisement



31st August 2006

its still aug 31 here...
Jonathan, just an old friend from the rez, got word from chris you were traveling the other side of morning, I can't believe all your adventures man, its beautiful... so I remember the 8-9-06 full moon too, I was walking down the road and this thing was moving towards me, I did not know what the hell it was, but I was ready to tackle it- turned out to be a bundle of balloons, so I took em back to my place... anyway, safe travels, my email is the same if you want to let me know when your stateside again- I am long gone to texas from the days on the rez and vegas... going to read your blogs again as well- take it easy man- peace... Peter

Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb