A Scottish sunset and my elusive "white rabbit"


Advertisement
Published: March 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

The sun is setting on the shores of Loch Ness right now. In about four hours, we are climbing into our little Fiat and I'm driving us (yes, the vote came in and the race car driver was chosen and gladly accepted) three hours to catch our 5:25 am flight to Frankfurt..............this place is magical.

We were graced with brilliant sunshine again today and we explored the remainder of the abbey grounds and walked along the River Taff and the Loch Ness. We swam again in the chapel pool and from a pool operator's standpoint-what a great piece of work! The pool water here is cleaned by the UV system....every ounce of water is pumped by UV light system in the pump room killing 99.9% of any bacteria. Salt or chlorine is then used to keep the water clean...no excessive chemicals, no horrid chloramine (the build up of non-sanitizing chlorine) smell. Sparkling fresh water welcomed us again. Everyone showers as they should and a steam room and sauna were right on the premises. The pH was perfect every time! The pool itself was lined with a rubber-type of material I have never seen before in the states.

Today, I
Croquet at the abbey!Croquet at the abbey!Croquet at the abbey!

A masterful game on the abbey grounds, Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Scotland
tried three breakfast rolls....a bacon roll, haggis roll ? and black pudding roll....holy cow yes, I tried haggis! My favorite was the black pudding. As long as I didn't think about it too much, I quite enjoyed the flavors and the consistency ? The beans and egg were delicious!

Clayton enjoyed his first game of croquet on the grounds in front of the abbey. It was storybook! We were in Scotland, playing croquet as rabbits hopped near us with the abbey on one side of us and Loch Ness loomed on the other side as daffodils swayed lightly in the breezes. Incredible! We spent a while enjoying ourselves just chatting about things we loved here and how much we enjoy US. This has been a trip of trips, hands down and we've enjoyed every second.

Yesterday was Sunday and the christians were in their places of worship, including the roman catholic church on the grounds here. What we've enjoyed in this land as well is how open everyone is here to the earth religions as well as the Christian religion. Neither is scared of the other Nor faulting anyone who chooses the path that touches them....Our favorite restaurant
One of the pheasantsOne of the pheasantsOne of the pheasants

Fort Augustus, Scotland
has several large evil eyes in plain view...and a candle story with small evil eyes affixed on it. This candle display tells a story of pure love. Candle colors are burned and form drips. Each candle is a prayer of sorts with a specific color chosen. The vast majority of this drip was pink....it started with white and then graduated to pink...lots of pink ... and then intermittent white among pink....a love that is pure is what this drip was about. When the owner of this drip achieved what they wanted, they affixed evil eyes thought the drip ward away negativity from their situation and protection to what they truly hold dear. It was a masterpiece of devotion.

My elusive white rabbit....we've had an ongoing joke since we've arrived about a local Chinese ring neck pheasant that literally runs from me when I have my camera in hand...as soon as I got out of the car I saw him and said, "you and I will be friends before this is over!" I've never been so wrong....he seriously turns into a badass roadrunner when my photo skills are at hand. If I don't have my camera, he parades around proudly...cue
Lichen laiden branchLichen laiden branchLichen laiden branch

Loch Ness, Scotland
camera and he streaks for the hills! On our walk from afternoon coffee today, he allowed me to snap his picture! I DID IT! Thank you my "white rabbit"?

I'm pleased with my photographs this trip as well and there's a backstory for them. As soon as we landed in Frankfurt, my flash went out and any of my auto focus options...all of these have been manual settings. It's a good thing I know my trusty old buddy...but it's sad knowing it's sick and will have to go in the shop...or worse....lots of history with this beautiful friend of mine! That turned out to be an actual added bonus to the trip and I couldn't just lazily click and shoot. Every shot needed to be thought out and made me put on my old photographer hat...just as this blog tantalized the old newspaper writer in me. I've enjoyed having a captive audience again I have to admit. Lol?

There's still more adventures on this trip with a five hour layover in Frankfurt and a four hour layover in Denver....we shall see if our luck continues with that Lufthansa pilot strike.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The abbey rain spicketsThe abbey rain spickets
The abbey rain spickets

The Highland Club, Fort Augustus, Scotland
A wonderful tale of love and purityA wonderful tale of love and purity
A wonderful tale of love and purity

This candle drip was at our favorite restaurant...for those not accustomed to this, it tells a story.


Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb