Coast to Coast Scotland - Edinburgh & St. Andrews


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Fife » Saint Andrews
August 9th 2017
Published: August 9th 2017
Edit Blog Post

IMG_4889IMG_4889IMG_4889

Scottish coast from the ferry
The weather report looked good so I donned light gear and was on the road by 9:00 to catch the 10:30 ferry out of Larne to Scotland. I had reserved space in advance so it was fairly easy when I arrived. The ferry left on time for the 2 hour trek over to the UK/Scotland. I worked on my blog but lost it when I lost WIFI when trying to save it. This was by far the biggest ferry I have ever been on. I counted at least 15 semi trucks and 4 tour buses besides 50 or so cars. The weather on the other side of the channel was also looking good. My route took me up to Glasgow then due East to Edinburgh and the Marriot -Glasshouse hotel. My ride along the coast was beautiful and very scenic. When I turned in land toward Glasgow I started seeing some clouds on the horizon and recalled that there was a short forecast time of rain around 3:00 but figured I'd be OK. Opps! not so much- I got hit with torrential rain for about 40 minutes - boy was I missing my big windshield. I took it slow and stayed
IMG_4895IMG_4895IMG_4895

Marriott Glasshouse hotel Edinburgh
in the center lane to stay away from pooling waters and spray from trucks. When I got to Edinburgh the weather had cleared and worked on navigating the Capital City of Scotland. I drove by the Glasshouse twice not believing it was a hotel (see pic). There was no reception drop off spot. I had to use public parking in the back and lug all my stuff quite some distance. By the time I got to my room it was 4:00 and I was exhausted combined from the battle with the rain, starting out at 9:00, and riding on the M road with my little windshield. As I said before it is amazing how much fighting the wind wears on you. For a little added fun the UK uses Miles per hour and of course my garmin is set for Kilometers- I will be switching that before I leave today. I rested for a bit then went to get a bite to eat and possibly see the city but by the time I found a place to eat I was exhausted and decided to get a good nights rest and save myself for St. Andrews.

I arrived St. Andrews
IMG_4899IMG_4899IMG_4899

Old Course Hotel St. Andrews
around 2:30 after a very nice and rain free ride to the East coast of Scotland. I realized that while a relatively short distance, in the course of 26 hours, I went coast to coast in Scotland. I landed on the Western shores at 12:30 the day before. Once again I am kicking myself for not giving planning a two day stay at the Old Course Hotel (owned and operated by Wisconsin owned - Kohler company). This place is first class all the way. Great room overlooking the "Old course" (see pic). The gave me a room upgrade and guaranteed 4:00 PM late check out - this worked out great because I was able to schedule a 90 minute massage at noon the next day. I walked around the course for awhile - people roam all over the course even if you aren't playing. I had thought about trying to get on the old course awhile back but had heard about how hard it is to get a tee time. In addition, with limited luggage capacity, I didn't want to lug around my golf shoes. I hope to come back with my golf buddies and play some of the courses
IMG_4900IMG_4900IMG_4900

Few of the 18th and 17th holes from my room at St. Andrews Old course Hotel
on a golfing only trip in the near future so I chalked this trip up to investigative review.

I went over to Ham's Hamme pub which is owned by the Old Course Hotel but is actually 1 mile from the hotel over by the tee box for hole #1 on the Old course. I wanted to sit at the bar and eat but the young man working the bar said that wasn't allowed. Met a guy from Texas who was also sitting at the bar (Dave) who was on a golfing trip with 24 guys. We both thought it a little strange that I couldn't eat a the bar but figured I'd have drink then sit and eat. I was about to order and the young man at the bar said that I could indeed eat the bar - he said his boss doesn't like it cause it gets in the way when people are trying to get a drink but since no one but Dave and I were there he said the boss isn't here and its my call. I gave the kid Kudo's for having a pair and had a delicious pulled pork sloppy joe.

IMG_4901IMG_4901IMG_4901

Big building in the center is Ham's Hamme Pub


I went back to the room and worked on this blog for a bit and watched some TV before hitting the hay around 10:00. Got up this morning and had a great breakfast on the top floor overlooking the 18th fairway. The course uses a lot of common fairways and common green's but the 18th is one that is totally independent of the other holes. I just completed my massage and am finishing this blog which will bring me current.

My change in Itinerary is as follows I'm going back to Edinburgh for two nights to enjoy the Edinburgh Fringe fest which runs for 3 weeks in August each year.

Then I'm heading over to Glasgow and spending a couple nights seeing Scotland's second biggest city. I may see about changing my Ferry reservations by a day and catching another night in Belfast so I can do the Titanic exhibit. I'll save the northern half of Scotland for a golf trip or a trip with Karen in the future.

While in Edinburgh or Glasgow I'll try down loading some of the video from my Go Pro on my helmet and see if I can isolate some
IMG_4903IMG_4903IMG_4903

Club house Old course
still shots to put on the blog

I don't think it will allow me to put full video on the blog.

Back at ye- when I get to the Sheraton- Edinburgh later this afternoon.



Jim



I went back


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

IMG_4906IMG_4906
IMG_4906

View of the coast line from town (St. Andrews)
IMG_4908IMG_4908
IMG_4908

Golfers on the first tee of the Old Course St. Andrews.
IMG_4915IMG_4915
IMG_4915

Touchdown Hams Hame pub
IMG_4916IMG_4916
IMG_4916

Breakfast view from the top floor of the hotel
IMG_4919IMG_4919
IMG_4919

Last look at St. Andrews Old course -they can track golf back 457 years at this location.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb