Day 5: Newtonmore to ?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Dunbartonshire
September 5th 2017
Published: September 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Left Newtonmore hostel after a little meltdown. The battery packs for my GPS/phone were low as I didn't recharge them correctly, so the GPS was not charged, I also noticed telltale signs of imminent saddle sores. I considered staying a day to charge packs, mail back some weighty items to Newcastle, and check a drug store for a sores remedy. Then I remembered my solar battery pack was still charged, there was no drug store in town, plus the post office didn't open till later. I decided to move on and address issues in the next town (Killin)

Cycling was fairly easy to start, with a mix of up, down, and flat. Then the wind picked up... and relentless it was. By the time I got to Dalwhinne, I was desperate for a break, and I spied a cafe sign just being put out as I passed the local distillery. A double order of toast, and two coffees and I was ready to battle again.

The wind had picked up as it was funneling down the Drumuachdar Pass. Climbing the pass, the bike route runs parallel to the A9, and is about 3 feet away, but with the strong winds and buffeting by the trucks, I was feeling very uncomfortable. As I was constantly fighting the wind, I didn't notice that I had finally crest the pass, at which point the bike route veered further from the road and the roll down was made pleasant, even thought the wind required some pedal effort for parts of the downhill.

As the wind wasn't letting up, as I was tiring, and as rain was threatening, I forfeited my overland shortcut to Killin, and diverted my attention to rerouting to Pitlochry.This would put me a day behind because of the directional difference, but I could attempt to make up time later.

After food and brew in Blair Atholl, I made Pitlochry by suppertime and checked in at the Backpackers Hostel (again, a room to myself). After organizing myself, I reconnected the battery packs, bought into the local chemists thoughts on saddle sore remedies (athletes foot creme), and I mailed 2 kilos of clothing back to Newcastle.

Then a low key evening of Co-Op foods and a beer. The hostel had quite the mix of internationals, ...hikers, travellers, workers, bicyclists, motorcyclist,... All ages including families.
After comparing backgrounds, travel or work plans, and goals... It was off to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb