Scotland 2007, Day 12, Isle of Skye to Isle of Mull


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Argyll » Isle of Mull
August 7th 2007
Published: November 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday, August 7th - Isle of Skye to Isle of Mull:

Since it is now almost a month later and I’m writing the final days (finally), I’m going to start with a quote from our lovely itinerary, “Call at the Clan Donald Centre for a visit to its MUSEUM OF THE ISLES and an insight into 13 centuries of clan history before boarding your ferry at Armadale to sail across the Sound of Sleat. Rejoin the mainland at Mallaig and follow the "Road to the Isles," pausing at Glenfinnan, the scene of the raising of Bonnie Prince Charlie’s standard in 1745; then follow the shores of lovely Loch Linnhe. The final leg of the day’s journey includes the ferry from Lochaline to Fishnish on the Isle of Mull, where the next two nights are spent. (FB D)”

So, in my words: Left Skye going to Isle of Mull. Along the way, stop and see the Clan Donald ruins (they opened early for us) but we weren’t allowed inside the castle. Bunch of stuff to read, didn’t bother. Mom got hot and bothered with the flowers that were there- if I guess at the name of the flower here and get it wrong, she will haunt me for life. So, just check out the pics of the overly poofy flowers in multiple colors. Stopped at Glennfinnan along the way and saw a big statue (above says of Bonnie Prince Charlie?). Bigger excitement was that Harry Potter train scenes were filmed at the Aquaduct there (the steam engine used in the movie is in use in real life- only got pictures of its stack and the steam though). Later, stopped at Tobermory which has multi colored buildings and very little shopping. We were suppose to visit Tobermory tomorrow, but did it today to save time tomorrow. Unfortunately, there was one thing that was worth buying in Tobermory and I didn’t buy it- and mom will not let me forget it. In a shop that use to be a church, there was a tshirt with a picture of a Scotsman from the back who’s kilt had flown up showing his great ass. Perfect gift for Scott, and it didn’t even dawn on me. I’ll try to find it online for mom. (Editors note: 3 years later and I still haven't been able to find that shirt- if you're going to Tobermory pick it up for me please!)

Everyone on the bus is getting sick and Joe mentioned that Chloroform is the 2nd ingredient listed in the cold medicine he and Nikki bought. He and Nikki were unconscious for a good portion of the day- got a great picture of them.

On one of the two ferries we took today, we stood on top for the 2nd one and mom did her Titanic impression (damn windy). We think Frank had a date tonight because he drove like a bat out of hell.

Get to hotel- Isle of Mull Hotel in Craignure. It’s in the middle of nowhere but pretty and an amazing view of a Loch. Desk tells us to go to room 14 (key is in door). We go to 14, no key in door. I decide to open the door and see Betty, Norman & Melissa. Reception told us wrong room. John goes back and they say it’s room 18. We open the door to 018 and there is only one bed. I go up to reception and run into Margie, she goes hunting with me and the room with one bed is room 018, we wanted 18, no “0” in front of it. So, we found 18, it has a double bed and twin bed and there is construction going on next door. I go back to reception and ask them when construction will stop. They assure me at 6pm. However, it’ll start back up at 8am. Luckily breakfast is at 8 so we will be up by then- no naps though.

That night, after dinner, I decide I need to wash the clothes that went into the loch with me two days ago. I take them out of the plastic bag and a lovely smell greets me. I decide to splurge and take the clothes up to reception to have them wash it for a ridiculous fee. In the lobby is some entertainment that Margie warned us about- a Scottish man and his son who, supposedly, sing horribly. I try not to make eye contact and I drop off my clothes. I later heard that it was a different duo, but I didn’t want to take the chance. I find a back stair to go down to get back to our room (18, not 018) and I hear mom and Nancy laughing- it’s very distinctive. I find her, Bob & Nancy holed up in the Whiskey bar having a great evening. I chat for a while but leave the adults to their fun. It’s the least I can do considering mom ends up picking up my laundry tab.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb