On the move again...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Angus » Montrose
July 9th 2010
Published: July 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

my wee babymy wee babymy wee baby

Lois looking so cute, about 6 weeks ago I think.
It's been a while, I'm not sure if anyone even reads this anymore but I thought it only fair I give another update....

It's the afternoon of Friday the 9th of July 2010, our daughter Lois is 17 months-old today, unbelievable. We've also today accepted an offer on our house so we're moving again, 6 weeks today although we haven't found anywhere we like to buy yet.... I'm trying to convince Fiona that we should take the sale proceeds and head to South America for a year or so, bring up Lois in Argentina, Peru, Bolivia, Chile, Uruguay and the like, she's not for it, not even entertaining the discussions or humouring me in the slightest so I know she means business, ah well - a boy can dream...

So, where were we? Fiona returned to work in May after 15 months off with Lois, she's working two days a week and is enjoying the work/mum balance, Lois' granny comes up on a Sunday night and looks after her on a Monday and Tuesday and the pair of them are having a ball. I'm still in the same job I got six weeks after we landed home, it's a
Ahoy!Ahoy!Ahoy!

Lois playing on the ships at the park
sad state of affairs that I feel lucky to have a job these days particularly after two rounds of redundancy in my company over the last 18 months.

I'm thinking about a change of career, I applied for a post-graduate teacher training place but didn't have the correct high school grades to go with my degree, wtf is that all about, it was 20 years ago? Anyway I sat the Maths exam I needed in May with all the other school kids so am waiting my result, I got a "B" for my prelim in February so fingers crossed. As luck would have it we now have a new government that are cutting every public service possible in a major cost-cutting drive, with this being the case I don't know if it's wise to retrain at this point, I think I'll apply for next year (September 2011 intake) and make my mind up if I get offered a place on the course.

Lois is doing away great, she was a very early crawler and was actively mobile from 5 months old, her vocabulary is outstanding and she's already stringing two and three word requests together, she didn't walk
Shed ShadesShed ShadesShed Shades

These were the must have cup final fashion statement...
independently until she was 15 months old but now we can't stop her. She's been sleeping through the night since about six months and generally 7pm - 7am, although recently she's been going down a bit later as it's so light outside, she has a nap about 10am - noon and another hour around 3-4pm, she's a constant whirlwind of chatter, running, eating and sleeping, every day is better than the last and I've never been so proud, climbing is her biggest thing right now, oh and phoning the police....

Last Friday we were putting her to bed and the phone was ringing but I couldn't find the handset, it rang three more times back-to-back so I went for the kitchen handset and dialled 1471, "the caller withheld their number", so I didn't think anything of it. I returned to Lois' room and was shutting her window shutters when a flashing blue light caught me eye, sirens on the police car stopped at our front door... I went to the front door and was met by a policeman asking if everything was okay? They had received a 999 call from a child who kept shouting "daddy" and rambling down
Sand loverSand loverSand lover

playing in the sandpit on holiday, she loves sand and water.
the phone to the woman....

When they tried to ring back three times without an answer they sent the boys in blue.... Total and utter MORTIFICATION.... There's Lois, all sweetness and light with the phone hidden under her sofa, 100 apologies later the policeman left to deal with more important things and we have now moved the phone on top of the fireplace.

Fiona's sister Lorna, who lives in Cambridge, had a baby boy in March, Brodie, I'm going to meet him for the first time tomorrow, Lois is good with him but gets jealous if her Mum or granny give him too much attention, Daddy will sort that tomorrow when we go down for a week.

Lois has had a couple of downs to go with her plenty of ups this year, she always suffered with really bad colic and after a few trial and errors we've established that she's allergic to milk protein, which is a step up from lactose intolerance, this means obviously she can't eat an dairy but also rules out soya products too, we've adapted her diet well and she doesn't go without, the only added change is a formula she's on
PeekabooPeekabooPeekaboo

Through her high-chair.
that is milk protein free and she now drinks oatly "milk".

Secondly she needed an operation in April, this was horrific for us but we knew it was coming. Lois was born 5 weeks early and one consequence of this was that she had an umbilical hernia, this didn't cause her any pain (as far as we and the doctors could tell anyway) but it was quite unsightly and carried a very small risk or rupturing which is a major problem.

We decided to wait until she was one to get the op and she went in under general anaesthetic and was out the same night, I don't like thinking about the operation let alone writing about so we'll just skip to the end and that it was a tremendous success, the surgeon said it went better than expected and he's been able to create an beautiful wee belly button for her with a tiny scar in the inside, happy days.

The other major event of 2010 was that the World Famous Dundee United won the Scottish Cup for only the second time in their history, in our centenary year no less. The final was in Glasgow
Nice hat...Nice hat...Nice hat...

An old one from winter but you can see the change in her.
in May and I took Fiona to her first football match, she had a ball amongst 28,000 other tangerine clad "Arabs" and winning the final 3-0 was the icing on a tremendous season. My season ticket has already been purchased for next season but alas Fiona will not be joining me at Tannadice, she says she'll come to the next cup final but we'll see, I think she only wanted to come to see if she could spot any celebrities.

The week before the cup final I was so nervous that we had to go on holiday as I couldn't stand the build-up, we went down the South-West coast of Scotland, the Solway Firth, between Stranraer and Dumfries, it was a lovely week and Lois was wrecking the joint as per usual but had a great time swimming every morning and visiting various farms and adventure centres each afternoon, we were exhausted but she sleeps for Scotland and is always up for the cup.

It's T-in-the-Park this weekend but Fiona thinks we're too old to go these days, bad times, I tried for tickets when they first went on sale but didn't get any, unfortunately it's just started
in the gardenin the gardenin the garden

playing away, happy as usual.
battering down with rain so the campsite will no doubt be a mud bath already, maybe we are too old after all...

There has been over 94,000 views of these pages now, time hasn't actually been great to the picture quality though, particularly when you compare our blogs to the recent ones. It's hard to believe we've been home for four and half years, and also that we went travelling with a 2mp camera, my mobile phone has an 8mp camera these days, mental biscuits.

My family always pestered me, and still do, to turn these blogs into a book of sorts so I've decided that when we hit 100,000 views I'll start work on the hard back...

I'm sure there's loads I've missed but it's really just an excuse to put up a few pictures of Lois, so until the next time, take care of yourself - and each other =oP

As always, love and hugs,

The Mudpies.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Fruit faceFruit face
Fruit face

Lois loves her fruit and got this tasty treat on holiday.
holiday parkholiday park
holiday park

it's not the Ritz but we had a ball here
crashoutcrashout
crashout

it's a hard life being driven about, just like her mother here...
playparkplaypark
playpark

her favourite place
at our beachat our beach
at our beach

I told you she was awesome, what a talent...
feed mefeed me
feed me

Breakfast time at the zoo
bear cubbear cub
bear cub

Mummy and Lois in the winter
BaptismBaptism
Baptism

an old one from her Baptism
Family photoFamily photo
Family photo

the full bhuna in the chapel for Lois baptism
The firestarterThe firestarter
The firestarter

say cheeeeeeeese
time to get wettime to get wet
time to get wet

poor thing, she'd already had a bath too...
Family MudpieFamily Mudpie
Family Mudpie

an old one but a good one.


16th August 2010

What a little beauty!
Hello again. I was following you when you two were traveling mostly, then the blogs became kind of scarce! I did comment about a Mudie here where I live. Just decided to have a look-see if you had updated. Then had to go back and read the ones I missed. I'm so glad that Lois is such a going concern and everything is now fine with her. She is such a little sweetie-pie. Mom and Dad are looking good too. I will be looking more often for updates and IT IS a great excuse to post pics of Lois. (Over 94,000 views...wow!) I'm sure there are plenty of people wondering...what ever became of you two. The very best to all three of you.
19th August 2010

Congratulations :)
Just going through some of the archives... so good to see that you're now a little family :) Ali

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb