Edinburgh to Dundee to St Andrews


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Angus » Dundee
May 22nd 2009
Published: May 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today I had to to use my time wisely because i still wanted to see the National Gallery and I had to pick up my train tickets and make sure I didnt miss my train! If you do miss it your screwed because your supposed to just have a ticket for that one train otherwise buy another one right!!! So i got through the gallery in record timing (wasnt allowed to wear my camel back i had to carry it on my side). Saw the impressionist paintings i wanted to see Monet Van Gogh and Rapheal very cool indeed.
Then it was just a short stint to Waverly station. Got my tickets from the self serve machine which was a bit of a experience but ended up working. I had two sets of tickets to get and it shot out four tickets but it really was only for one ride so thank god i re did it and got my other ride as well. Little did i know i would be spending a lot more time at Waverly because the train broke down. They had us all on board anxious and everything. Usually the trains are packed and especially in this case. About 20 mins after our scheduled departure they said over the intercom "Ladies and Gentleman due to technical difficulties you will have to leave the train and go to Number 14" everyone got up and ran to get the best spot i guess all swearing their faces off while doing it. I took my time with my big ass bag and managed to upgrade to a table beside the window. We finally left an hour after we were supposed to!!! Not too many happy ppl on board. I got talking to this girl from Norway about ipods and how expensive Norway was. She was a huge fan of Denmark and when I told her I had family there I'm going to visit she got very jealous. She said Copenhagen was her fav city in the world.
Well I had to make a decision while on board. I wanted to get as far north as possible and this train was going just north of Aberdeen place called Invernuie or something. I chickened out and took my stop, not only because you have to present your ticket to leave the station but because I had a bit of a hidden agenda I didnt even know about. That was St Andrews. I never planned on seeing it because I thought I wouldnt have time but it turns out that I planned it perfectly to take just a 20 min public bus to from my hostel door. Checked into the hostel which was the same ppl as the Bedford. Very new though and I had a room to myself with a locking cupboard and everything. So I went down to the lobby the guy suggested I go see St Andrews after I couldnt locate a nearby distillery I was off. I forgot my damn camera in the process though!!! Shit you will have to wait a bit longer for the pics of St Andrew because i bought one of those cheapy underwater ones to make sure I had pics from the Tesco.
Amazing place. It was the first day I got to walk in the sand on the beach with the sun out and ppl playing soccer and everything. Cool little harbour with all the boats dried up they dont have docks or nothing they just let it dry up and wait for the tide!! Crazy bastards there was a boat with a motored leg on it and I know thats not good for it to rest the whole weight of the boat on the leg. Walked around saw a Ferrari just parked outside where i picked up the camera. Had to get a pic of that. Saw the old cathedral which was from 1140!! Crazy all the ruins and graves everywhere. Tons and tons. Met a guy with a Canucks jersey on. Had to have a moment. I still cant believe LOu let us down like that haha. He said he wanted Dtown to win it and I almost punched him in the chops. Way rather have Chicago win although there bastards. Saw the uni they have there all spread over town. Its super old as well. Students everywhere I go it seems. A whole army of em were coming towards me with their shirts off and then two of em just started scraping. It was hillarious just for shits but still funny to see em. Another older guy walked by and they going at er. I continued down the road to finally end up at the Old Course where golf began. It was in this town that Golf started way back in 1754 and is the home of the rules of golf everywhere except the states for some reason. I was wondering about Canada but im sure were the under their rules. Anyways I walked by the ancient club house and took tons of shots of ppl playing. Walked the course all the way over to the Clubhouse where the public is allowed to go. Went in to inquire about a round but it was only like 200 pounds to play and you had to book it months ahead so I thought I would leave it to the golf hardcores! I got Raj and his dad Jimmy a little gift cause I thought they might take an interest in it seeing they love the sport. I will have to mail it soon.
Really flat course but it had so many hills on it, kinda cool. I walked my ass back to the bus and headed to Dundee. After I got back to town I searched for a grocery store to make some dinner. Everywhere closes at like 4 so I was screwed until I found a little corner store grabbed some beer and some soup and went to the hostel. I cracked a beer and sat down in the common room to watch Red Dwarf with a bunch of ppls. It was an old British comedy that they just started doing again and this was the first episode. Really funny I ended up staying up and talking to this girl from Ireland who worked in the hostel till late about traveling. She was planning on doing the same sort of trip as me she still had to save though and thats the toughest part. She was moving to an island up in Scotland with only 70 ppl on it and was happy to get out of Dumpdee!!!Talked to sarah a bit on the computer and it was bed time! Just as I was about to fall asleep these two Germans come crashing in and turning the lights on and messing about for an hour it seemed. Oh well the hostel life it is. Peace
PS MORE PICS TO COME SOON gotta print them and scan em in lifes a bitch when u dont have a computer

Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0792s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb