Northern Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Aberdeenshire » Huntly
January 2nd 2011
Published: January 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Our time in northern Scotland has been great. We've lazily risen in the morning, had a good breakfast and then taken slow drives to beautiful places. Yesterday we went to Leith Hall which is a 'house' (more like a palace) that was donated to a society (of some sort) by a widow who lost her husband and son in the war in the 1950s. We had a walk around the beautiful pond, which was frozen, and beautiful gardens. While we were there, it began to snow and it was breathtaking.

Gordon and I took a short trip to the west coast of Scotland. We stopped by Loch Ness, but did not spot Nessie.
Anywhere you travel in Scotland is not far, but because the roads are often one track roads and very windy, it can take some time getting to your destination. We took our time getting to Skye (one of the many islands off the coast). Along the way we stopped by a castle, but we weren't able to go in. I can easily imagine horses and carriages driving over the bridge to the castle. I can picture people years and years ago, going about their daily chores to keep the castle alive.

Wetherhill, Gordon's grandparent's house, was built in 1865 and is a listed building in Britain. The minister of Ordiquhill Church, which is just down the road from Wetherhill, used to live in Wetherhill. I can imagine the minister living in this grand house and every Sunday walking down the drive to the church. The church is no longer functioning, but is still very much in tact. The graves are hundreds of years old, some dating back to the 1700s. I found a grave stone of someone called Johnston, which is my mother's maiden name. I guess I have some Scottish blood in me afterall.

Gordon and I are off to Edinburgh on Monday evening for a few days. The first thing I will do when we get there is go to Edinburgh Castle and get my Dad some whiskey liquer, which he took a shine to at Kosi Bay. I love Edinburgh. I have some great memories of being there last year with some friends. I have no doubt that it will be just as good this visit.

As I write this, I am also looking out over the field at the snow
Leith Hall courtyardLeith Hall courtyardLeith Hall courtyard

You can imagine the activities of the people years and years ago
that has begun to fall again. No matter how many times I see it, it never ceases to amaze me. Those in Scotland may grow tired of it, but I absolutely love it. It's hard to imagine the heat back in Johannesburg.

Sending you all lots of love back in SA.


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

an olden day fridge.an olden day fridge.
an olden day fridge.

A hole was dug into the mound of sand and food was placed in there with ice to keep cool during the summer


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb