Observations


Advertisement
Published: July 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Now that I have some more traveling time under my belt, I thought it'd be good to address a few alleged misconceptions that American's commonly have about Europe. My observations during my travels thus far have produced some interesting discoveries. Before you political correctness freaks get offended, keep in mind I'm just observing cultural differences. I'm not judging.

Misconception 1: Europeans hate Americans.

conclusion: FALSE

It's been a difficult half decade for the old US of A. Some decisions by the higher ups have been questionable, leading many people - myself included - to believe that Europeans think we're stupid, lazy, and want to take over the world. In my experience in Europe thus far, this couldn't be any further from the truth. Everyone has been extremely nice, and the fact that we're American has encouraged complete strangers to strike up conversations. And of course there is the Sean factor. If I had to choose a person who I think would least get along with the people here, it'd be Sean. He's a big, loud, conservative republican, cowboy-hat-wearin', Texan who speaks his mind in a southern accent. I love this about Sean. And apparently so do the Europeans. He's the life of the party everywhere we go.


Misconception 2: The British have bad teeth.

conclusion: kind of true

Movies like Austin Powers do very little to help the Brits as far as this is concerned. But unfortunately, the truth of the matter is that dental hygene and straight teeth are just not as important to British culture as they are to Americans. Keep in mind, not all Brits have bad teeth, but there are enough cases to sustain the notion. And it's something even the Brits recognize. This was made evident to Nick and I on our trip to Spain. After having a laugh (showing our teeth), we were approached by a number of Englishmen who were quick to tell us how much they loved "yanks" - which they still call Americans by the way. Confused at how they knew we were American's without hearing us speak, we asked them. They responded by telling us that only Americans had straight, white teeth like us. Keep in mind that Nick and I have never had braces and will openly admit to being pretty lax in our approach to oral hygene.

Then there's just observation. It was baffling to say the least. Yellow teeth, missing teeth, terrible breath, snaggle-tooth - they were all readily present in the Brits we saw in both England and Spain. I honestly couldn't look away. It was a train wreck in every mouth I saw. But bad teeth I can deal with...


Misconception 3: BO reigns supreme in Europe

Conclusion: TRUE

I see the sticks of deoderant in the grocery stores here. They're everywhere. There are ads for them all over the place. Are they there for show? Are people actually buying them? I don't know. And again...this isn't the whole population I'm talking about. But there is enough to justify the notion. It's rampant. And the smell creeps around the buses and walkways, ready to strike when you least expect it. You're having a good time in the city, and before you know it hits you like a ton of bricks. It's a different kind of BO. It's more refined...more aged. It isn't like the sharp, pungent work-out BO we have in the states. It's more unassuming, which makes it much more dangerous. But there is an air of class about it. It's like prestigious BO. It's BO royalty. And it isn't just the folks who look dirty or hippies or bums. It's men in business suits and young pretty girls wearing nice dresses. I've become a bit of a connoisseur of the stench. I've developed a nose for it. I know it sounds crazy, but once you're around it enough you begin to recognize the subtleties of every scent.

Don't get me wrong though. I'm not used to it by any means. Just when I think I can justify it to myself as a natural body function that my upbringing has nurtured out of my everyday life, someone walks by trailing a funk that forces my eyes to tear over and renders me temporarily dizzy. I'm not kidding, it's actually happened. It wouldn't be so bad, but every time you smell BO in the states, your first reaction is "Oh shit, did I forget to put deoderant on today?", and naturally that is the same reaction you have here. And for a second you can actually convince yourself that your body is capable of producing a funk like that within the time it took you to get out of the shower to the time when you smell it. Then you realize that the fumes aren't coming from you, and you're kind of relieved. I'm sure it will take some more getting used to.

But in the end it's just another cultural difference, and something that adds to the experience of being on this side of the world. I'm sure there will be plenty more observations. Stay tuned.





Advertisement



15th July 2005

observations
Dan, your Dad gave me a sample of your journal from July 13. I laughed out loud a few times at your analysis of the misconceptions we often have. Casey and I went to Curacao in the fall of 2002, and I felt like the ugly American. The Dutch have a way of looking down at you anyway (they seem to be uniformly tall - women too), so my ideas were reinforced. Anyhow, I was going out scuba diving and got partnered up with a Brit (who, in hindsight seem to consider Americans with the kind of patient and enduring affection a parent might have for a wayward child). David straightened me out on what most Brits really think about us as opposed to the BBC rhetoric. It was nice to hear, and I felt immediately comfortable with him the same way I do with Aussies and Canadians (I hear the French Canadians might have a slightly different attitude. Pedro met the only French Canadian I've ever come in contact with, and she was very sweet indeed!) In Curacao, Casey and I hung out with local blacks (of all shades) like we did in the Virgin Islands. They accepted us, unlike the much taller and more condescending ex-slave trading Dutch. (not that there's anything WRONG with thatÂ…) I think it really comes down to how much people are taken in by the propaganda mascara ding as news. Humans are all alike, and generally likeable. I'm gonna get on your web site so I can enjoy more of your observations. You write good. Tony
24th July 2005

haha
I think you are hilarious. thank you for the cultural differences i should expect on my trip over there =) NIkki B

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb