A weekend in Dublin


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Northern Ireland » County Antrim » Belfast
October 12th 2009
Published: October 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow...what a weekend I had in Dublin...I went to Dublin with another American who is studying here as well and playing volleyball. We headed down Saturday afternoon and took the bus. Crossing the border we got stopped by the immigration patrol..pretty scary. I didnt know I should bring my passport and they asked for everyone to take them out. Thank goodness they didnt ask for mine!! We were fortunate enough to get tickets to the Ireland vs Italy soccer match, quite the experience. They tied 2-2 so it was a fun game to watch. Sunday we went to the Guinness factory which is really cool. We did the tour around the factory and meet some people from America along the way. They are studying abroad in Barcelona. I found that when you are traveling people are so nice and it is easy to meet people. At the end of the tour you go up to the gravity bar and enjoy a free pint of Guinness. I have to say it was the best tasting Guinness I have ever had. While enjoying our pints we met two girls from Australia who were visiting Dublin for the weekend. We ended up spending the rest of the day with them. Australian's are pretty cool and they love to party. After the Guinness Factory we headed to the oldest pub in Ireland. It was called the Brazen Head. It was built in 1182 I believe. Pretty neat place. Inside the pub there was live music and it was an Irish gig. It was cool to see one live. After the pub we went to a hotel and had a three course meal for 30 Euros, pretty expensive. One word of advice I give to people if they travel to Dublin is bring a lot of money, quite expensive I have to say, but worth the trip. During the dinner there was another irish gig. We finally caught the bus back last night and got back here around 1 in the morning. Getting up to teach class was a bit of a struggle. I have a ton of photos, but still waiting on the internet at the house. They said we should have it on Thursday, I CANNOT wait!!!
Also for updates on our season you can check out the basketball ireland website and see everything for the year. The website is www.basketballireland.ie. Lastly I made my flight to come home for Christmas. Will be ariving on the 21st of Decemeber and returning the 2nd of January. Cannot wait to see everyone!!
Cheers

Advertisement



16th October 2009

hello
Hi David - loved reading your blog. Who made your reservations home for Christmas????? Did you meet the owner of the Australian team?? Love you Mom

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb