Start of Classes


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Northern Ireland » County Antrim » Belfast
September 22nd 2009
Published: September 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Whats going on everyone?!? I want to apologize again that I have not been ontop of my blog. We are still waiting on internet in our house. We finally just got cable 3 weeks after we moved in, but hey we are making progress. Internet should be working in about a week, cannot wait. This past weekend we had three scrimmages and they all went well. We won all three of them which is great for us. We won our first game by 30 against a team who is also in the SuperLeague and I played well, I had 29 points and 13 rebounds, pretty exhuasted after, but i survived. Our second game was later that day on Saturday. We played a team from Scotland called the Edinburgh Kings and won by 2. I had 44 points and 17 rebounds. I would say it was a pretty good day for the Ulster Elks and I on Saturday. On Sunday we played the team from Scotland again and won by 5. It was an ugly game because both teams were exhausted. Playing three games in a weekend and averaging about 30 minutes a game is a lot for our bodies. If we were 16, I believe we could have done it ha. Sucks getting old...Sunday evening a couple of the lads and I went out for some beers so we could watch American Football. It finally felt like Sunday because I got to watch the Eagles LOSE to the Saints. It was also a great Sunday because the Redskins WON! Heard it was an ugly game, but a win is a win. Hail to the Redskins!
Monday morning was the start of classes. I am teaching a basketball class to first year students at the University (better known as Freshmans) every Monday from 915 to 1115. It is a great class because majority of the kids have never played basketball before and I get the chance to teach them the greatest sport of all time! I have to say it is different for me not having basketball as the dominant sport over here and if you are curious I have picked Liverpool as my football (soccer) team because that is all they watch so I thought it would be the best to choose a team. My first class for my master's was later in the afternoon. It was on Sports Policy. My teacher is from Australia and seems very cool. I was sitting in class yesterday thinking I was never going to be in school again, but there was I was listening to my lecturer talk about sports policies. I cannot believe I am getting my master's, it is kind of wierd, but it will all pay off in the end. Of course today I have already made a mistake with my schedule. I thought I had class at 915 and it turns out it isnt till 1115, I feel like a Freshman all over again!!
Lastly, later this Thursday they are celebrating 250 years of Guinness here in Ireland which I think is pretty cool that I am here to celebrate it(I will try not to drink to many pints of Guinness, will give you all the update sometime later this week on how that goes. Hope everyone is doing well and miss everyone. Pictures will be up shortly when we get internet in our house, I know people are dying to see them.
Cheers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb