There are no Bombs in Belfast


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Northern Ireland » County Antrim » Belfast
February 20th 2009
Published: February 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Signs signs everywhere there are signsSigns signs everywhere there are signsSigns signs everywhere there are signs

Yep, it has the flavor of America...
So after a day and night in Dublin, I took off to Belfast for the rest of the weekend. The Bus ticket only cost € 22,00 with return, what a deal. The bus runs each hour, I thought, well what do I have to loose? I came to Ireland to see the country and live it up as long as I can, before I have to go back to America.

The bus ride was uneventful, the view,,well it reminded me of Italy. No notable characteristics. Where are the mountains, cliffs and waterfalls? Not on this side of Ireland and its not spring or summer yet so its all brown. With the view lacking a wow factor, I turned to my latest 50 cent read, a drama-suspense novel. I realized on this trip, that in the time I lived in Germany I would read a bit here and there when traveling, but most of the time I would use the time to sleep off working the bar shift or the last night of partying. But now when traveling I do not leave the house with out a book.

On arrival to Belfast bus station, I found the tourist info and
make a left at the churchmake a left at the churchmake a left at the church

did you need forgiveness today
pleasantly asked for a city map...maps are free...always nice. Out the door the first thing I see drive past was not a black taxi but the armored Police urban assault vehicle. I do not think that the bank security vans have this much armor on them. I just had a little laugh to myself and thought of Iraq. The thought of Anger and friends over there and what they will think when they see this. Then the thought, hum, what fun it would be to have a armored police vehicle like this in DeKalb, you know for the assault wilding deer that we have. (will get a better picture latter)

The city:

Well, the city is a unique place if you will just blend in with the people. "Become one with the people, my young lad".

The first impression I had was yep just another European city, here I go again. But then as I walked to the hostel I felt a new feeling, one similar to that of Berlin. The feel is of a bastard child, bitch slapped for no reason other than abused over and over again, by not the people but of the politics
Time Time everywhere there is TimeTime Time everywhere there is TimeTime Time everywhere there is Time

Do you know what time it is? Why just look up!
that have taken over the people. The people are friendly, almost sorry for the image that has been instilled on them, yet, proud to be from Belfast.

The Hostel was GREAT. The moment I walked in, I relaxed. As a traveler this is a great feeling. I would go more into the hostel but the web site is www.belfasthostel.com. I went out to get a bit of food from Tesco (pictured) and did a bit of walking around. I was a bit over the walking around from Dublin so I went back and read a bit more on a nice comfy sofa at the hostel.

At the hostel, on the first night I met some of the best people. A gal by the name of KATZ (pictured) and Dalton (pictured). Katz is from Israel and a photographer, if you have the chance to, www.katz-r.com is her site. The next day, before Dalton had to go to work the two of us went for a walk to a botanical garden after breakfast. It was with these two friends that I was able to see a true side of Belfast. As well have a bit of fun with the two
Need food? Need food? Need food?

Need to do a little shopping? This is the down town supermarket
of them as well. Kids will be kids. (picture) The nice thing about hostel staying and living, there are new friends in the making.

This is a truly great city that I have just begun to scrape the surface of. My first thoughts and impressions are that I could see myself living here one day. I would not be surprised that if in the next 10 years this city will be come the power house of northern Ireland, only time will tell. Let you know more about this city after next weekend, as Kelsy and I are going there. I get to see Dalton again and enjoy more of the city.

The Tavern that is pictured, look at the doorway.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

FoodFood
Food

Dalton providing food from his work...Um cooked with love.
who is the queen of the sofawho is the queen of the sofa
who is the queen of the sofa

We were having breakfast in a nice Cafe. Katz and I were talking about who got to sit on the sofa. I got the sofa! I got the sofa!
kids will be kidskids will be kids
kids will be kids

Thats right, kids have fun when there friends come over. We were trying to wake Katz up. It took the 3 of us. Then I thought about how funny this must look and took a picture, all we are missing is the fussy slippers and superhero sleep clothing.
I want this place on my houseI want this place on my house
I want this place on my house

I like indoor green houses. On this morning there was live music played in the green house. On my house I am going to have a greenhouse.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb