Museum of London and Laundry


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
June 28th 2017
Published: July 4th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Cumberland to London Museum to Laundry to Cumberland


Wednesday, my last day in London before leaving for Europe, I decided to go to the Museum of London before spending time getting some laundry done. I also had an early departure time of 4:45 a.m. so I wanted to be back early to my hotel to pack and get some rest. I took the Tube to the Museum of London, It was raining during the 3 blocks I had to walk to get to the Museum. Since I had the London Pass I also got a free Museum Highlights Book. The museum had lots of artifacts from early prehistoric up to modern times. It was very informative. On the outside of the museum was part of the original London Wall that the Romans built when London was known as Londinium. As I was leaving, I decided I didn’t need the book on the rest of my trip so I gave it to two elderly ladies. One was so surprised she asked if she could kiss my cheek. She was cute.



I headed back to my hotel and gathered up a week’s worth of laundry and headed 3 blocks to the laundromat. It was the same one I used the last time I was in London. However, I don’t remember paying so much. Laundromats are few and far between so they can charge and arm and a leg or two. I entered and the attendant immediately started to help me with getting a basket for me to put my items in. He then told me I had too much for one machine. So I used 2. He asked if I had soap and when I said I didn’t, he said “No problem. I get for you.” Then he asked if I had coins, and I had he said that it would be £8 per wash and £2 per dryer! Then he would fold and put them in my bag for me. All for £30! That’s almost $35. I got him to agree to 1 dryer and no folding for £25. I went across the street to a pub, had a shot of Jack Daniels, and sat down for an hour while my clothes were getting done. After getting my clothes, I went back to pack, exchanged my pounds for Euros, and went to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MofL (8)MofL (8)
MofL (8)

Original Wall of London


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb