Touch Down!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
May 27th 2015
Published: May 27th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Made it through the flight. This time I opted for a 'lay down' seat which is done justice in my hasty photo on the plane. The trick to lying 'flat' is that you have to be of average or better height to keep from falling down the rabbit hole at your feet. I finally rebuckled my seat belt between my legs and managed to spend the night in the business class cabin instead of the cargo hold or where ever you go when your feet down touch the ground.

Landing at Heathrow was the real challenge, though. Delta must not be a preferred airline as the walk from the plane to passport control was a least a five mile hike. At one point, I saw a sign that said 'Arrivals' - 'Chapel' I thought it must be for those of us who needed prayer to continue the march. Then another (shorter walk of about two miles) to the bus depot where I got a lovely, comfy tour bus to Bath (don't use the onboard loo.) This was a truly beautiful ride through the countryside.

I must say that is has been one of the most beautiful days I have ever seen in England. I don't know if it was the time of day or the weather or what, but the airplane's approach to London was spectacular. I'd never seen the Thames in all her glory winding her way through the metropolis. Just a gorgeous view of history. I gave up counting golf courses (from my side of the plane, only) and we were low enough to almost see the people living on their permanent river boats.

The folks here at the family run hotel are lovely and my room is all I could hope for. Now, if I can just get a spa treatment scheduled I may be up for the next six weeks.

Much love,

30


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



28th May 2015

Thanks for the update.
Great to hear you arrived safely. You are the most adventurist lady I know. Which I had your nerve. Looking forward to hearing from you again. Your room looks lovely.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb