Day 1 and 1/2 - the long plane ride


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
September 23rd 2012
Published: September 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Have you ever been in a plane and felt sick to your stomache?

We had dinner and I watched a movie, ready for the evening to wind down. Most people were dozing off and settling down for the remaining hours of our flight (at least another 5 to go). I know I fell asleep, but kept tossing and turning in my "normal sized" airplane seat. Then my tummy starting hurting and everyone was asleep. I rang the bell to call the stewardess and asked her to help me out of my window seat because the people beside me were sound asleep. After a restroom break I still felt ill, so I went to the cabin crew and the steward gave me ginger ale. He was so accomodating and helpful. They must have this problem a lot! But the ginger ale didn't help and I was still queezy, sweaty and my stomache was sore. Well, they whipped out a pill that we don't even sell in the US and in 20 minutes I was back in my seat feeling much better. I slept a few hours and then it was time for breakfast ... I passed on the meal and slept the rest of the way into London.

We disbarked the plan and had get on a tram to go through customs. By the time I got through customs, everyone had to go back through security and I was looking for my gate. Anyone that has ever been through Heathrow knows this is a very large airport. My gate was still in the general vacinity, but I had to hoof it down to the gate. I only had 10 minutes before they closed the gate. Phew! Good thing I didn't do any shopping in the airport!

It was raining in London! Hmmm, is that normal? The plane took off a little late, but it seemed like we landed on time. No drama on this plane ride, Yippee!

I was met in the Rome airport by my traveling buddies, Ricco and Gia (traveling in cognito). (my picture reader is not working on my lap top, so I will have to add photos when I can get this to read)

More to follow!

Ciao!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb