Realisation


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
December 13th 2011
Published: December 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today I think I sort of realised that money isn't everything.



We are taught from a young age that money makes the world go round, now I'm not saying that that isn't the case as that would be a naive statement to make, however this year I've finally realised that it's not all about the money.



I almost double my wage at the beginning of the year but was still unsatisfied and ended up leaving that job before eventually trying my hand working in Switzerland.



I've been in work since being back but it's not exactly been great, now I'm out of work again today I had a phone call for a job that is more than double my recent salary, 9k more than I even had at the beginning of the year, yet for some reason I still can not bring myself to go for it.



The way I see it, I'm 25, I'm not getting younger only older, all my mates are settling down with houses, kids, cars, long term careers etc etc. If I take such a job it's going to be for the long term, I have no desire to settle down like my friends, not yet.



Yes, I could go travelling/working abroad when I'm 35, debt free and with a much more secure lifestyle, it would make practical sense for sure, it'd also be a whole lot easier that's for certain, but I'm not going to have the same attitude I have now, the same desires, the same passions, things change, I can not predict the future.



Why do tomorrow what you can do today.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb