Day of baths and big rocks. 6/09/09


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
September 1st 2009
Published: September 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sunday 6 September
Bags and Breaky 7am Leave 8am
This morning was not a great day thanks to the wine the previous night. I managed to get one tiney hash brown down.
We headed of towards Bath. Like all the little English towns we’d stopped in, this one was quaint and beautiful. This was by far my favourite though. One day I will get an apartment here for 4 or 5 days.
The Roman Bath museum was fantastic. Such a comprehensive and interesting display. The baths were fantastic and I can totally see how they were used. They had computerised images of Romans walking around the walks which was great. At the end, we drank a glass of water from a fountain that is spring fed. Silly me wasn’t expecting it to be hot though. Ick.
Afterwards we took a walk up to the circus, where the houses are worth around 4 million pound. Nothing bad to say about Bath at all.
They had aqua glass for sale everywhere. Such pretty colours. I finally got myself a Cornish pastry. Mmmmm
Sadly, we left way too quickly and headed towards Stonehenge. This is just one of those places you have to see to tick off your list. I wasn’t expecting it to be as peaceful as it was. The audio guide was very interesting and I learnt lots.
The drive into London was fairly easy.. we said our goodbyes to our Tour Group and checked back into the Thistle Marble Arch again.
I took off on my own, determined to see a bit more of London. I did a Hop On Hop Off the tube with my Oyster card and think I saw more of London than I did at the start. I was fantastic and MUCH better than the Hop on Bus. I would go a few stops, hop off and walk around, and then tube a few more stops. MUCH better than walking aimlessly between sights. I had a wonderful afternoon exploring. Dinner at the Three Tuns again before an early night.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb