Karen's assorted English excursions... Dover, Farringdon and Wimbledon


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
June 25th 2008
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dover



I had a quiet weekend, spending Saturday strolling around Regent’s Park and the canals. On Sunday I caught the train down to Dover (actually went one more stop to Sandwich just to say I’d been there). I explored the castle on the top of the hill including some of the underground tunnels. From the lookout I could see all the way to France.

You can’t really see the white cliffs of Dover while you’re standing on them so I took a short cruise on the harbour before I headed back to London. When I got back I caught up with Jess and Stephen in Putney for a last drink before they head off on their tour of Eastern Europe.

Farringdon



The next Friday I had a huge night out in Farringdon with Nutter. It started as a few quiet beers and ended with a few too many as it always seems to when we get together. We originally planned to try out Fabric, the London super club, but were scared up by the line that went for more than two blocks and around a couple of corners. I eventually dragged myself home in the early hours and paid for my sins with a raging hangover.

Wimbledon



I worked Monday and Tuesday the next week and then got up in the very early hours of Wednesday to catch the train out to Wimbledon. I met Jason and Kirstyn at the station and we headed to the queue. It was all very civilised and everyone had a queue card and lined up in a series of orderly lines. The British certainly know how to queue! It took a couple of hours to get in but there were people all along the way offering freebies like water, sun cream and strawberries.

When we got in we had some champagne and nibbles, including strawberries and cream which are a Wimbledon specialty. We watched a young Aussie girl come back from a set down to win on one of the back courts before finding our seats on court two to watch Leyton Hewitt, who also won. Serena Williams played next and is amazing to watch. She was serving about the same speed as Leyton. Kirstyn nearly got her head knocked off by a stray forehand! It was a huge day and I didn’t get home till late, absolutely exhausted.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb