The Decision


Advertisement
Published: March 8th 2015
Edit Blog Post

<em style="line-height: 1.42857143;">Starting from the beginning... this decision was brought about by numerous bad ones, as are; I've decided, all the best ones.

Up until the age of 18 I had done everything by the book, I went to school I got pretty good grades, I got myself into a fancy college where I got OK grades and went to University for one year. It had occurred to me in my 2nd year of A Levels that I really had no idea where my true passions lay, I couldn't think of a single thing I was passionate about, passionate enough to spend £9,000 a year studying. I changed my mind some many times it made my head spin.. Computer Science, Vet, Doctor and then the more reasonable Journalist, Author, Teacher. Honestly I knew I was one of many, but I let myself get pushed along into just picking what I thought I would be best at and crossing my fingers and toes.

It was quite violently brought to my attention that, this was not the best decision for me.. as I slowly drove myself crazy loving the idea of studying but not being able to bare even getting out of bed in the morning, I shan't bore you with the details, but long story short I finally came to the decision that I needed to change something in my life; I still wanted to learn but I just couldn't find any energy and love out of doing it from a book any more, so I decided to do something I knew I was passionate about, and that was to travel. Initially I was so excited by the idea and simplicity of it all, I wanted to beg, borrow and steal enough money to get me out of the country and just see what the hell happened. But that felt like too familiar of a mistake and I found myself deciding instead to figure out a way to earn it, to make everything about this decision my own with no input or help from anybody else, bold but sitting here now I'm proud of it. I got myself 2 jobs, going from a bummed out student living off noodles to working 60 hours a week living off noodles. I met some fabulous people along the way and also a piece of myself I hadn't realised I had.

I managed to save myself up a healthy amount of money to take a little pressure off myself, and undoubtedly my family. I figured if I was doing this, I wanted to do it for as long as possible, which led me to the decision of looking up exactly how I could be an Au Pair; it seemed like a sweet deal to me.. Slotting into an authentic local family learning truly what it means to be a part of that nation, whilst also been given an opportunity to learn a language and having the comfort of my own space. It sounded like exactly what I needed... After a few heartbreaking encounters with various families who changed their mind or found themselves wanting somebody just a little bit more experienced, I finally found myself the perfect family.



I now right this 2 weeks prior to this massive change in my life, and I for the first time in a long time have made a decision for myself that fills me with passion, pride and excitement.



D
x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb