Let me just tell you how my day went.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Wiltshire » Stonehenge
October 11th 2012
Published: October 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Let's start with Stonehenge. I can't believe I can now cross that off of my bucket list! It was so pretty in person. And huge! The tour provides you with an hour at the site, which is waaaay more than enough time to take it in. You basically walk around and take pictures from every angle, and then walk through a teeny little gift shop. I met a new friend (Alec, from China) who literally walked up to the stones, took a picture, and then walked right back to drop-off point. The audio commentary was pretty dry compared to the two History Channel documentaries I had watched before my trip. Yes, two. I like to research what I am seeing. There is far too much history/speculation/controversy surrounding Stonehenge to include here.

On the train back, I met a very handsome young man named Collin. Can a name GET any more English?? I submit that it cannot. He has travelled all over the world and was on his way to Poland for a few weeks. JEALOUSY. We chatted for so long and I was so entranced in his dreamy Brittish eyes that I accidentally missed my stop. Oops. That's where things started getting a little hairy. The transit system is a little different here-- at most stops you have to scan your card to exit the station as well as enter it. So if you try to exit at a station that you have not purchased a ticket for you get fined. My new friend Collin told me that I would have nothing to "bother about" and to just "bat my eyelashes" at the ticket checker. Well, it worked. Thank goodness. And it didn't have anything to do with my eyelashes--it was only because it was my birthday and he didn't want to fine anyone on their birthday. What a nice ol' chap.

When I walked into Waterloo Station my mind went numb. I couldn't remember what country I was in, where I was going, what I needed to do... I was momentarily paralyzed with fear. I sat down and pretended to read a newspaper as I sorted out all of my thoughts, then bought my transit card and headed for the Tower of London.

I walked. And walked. And walked some more. Then remembered I hadn't eaten in a while and got super hungry. Then I got a little teary eyed due to the pains in my feet and back. I was so frustrated that I was already exhausted on day one! I am supposed to be Super Traveller! I kept walking because I was pretty sure that the Tower closed at 530 and it was getting really close to 5. I walked over the Tower Bridge and tried to hurridly enjoy the medieval architecture. It was POURING rain. I was soaked on the outside despite my little umbrella and two rain coats, plus soaked on the inside from sweating so much. Miserable. But finally-- I reach the Tower of London. My phone dies. My camera dies. I walk up to purchase a ticket at 5:04, and learn that the last tour actually left at 5. I was 4 minutes late. Shut the front door. Er, drawbridge. It had taken me 3.5 hours to get from Stonehenge to there and it was all for nothing! I bought some spring water that turned out to be sparkling (gross), sat on the stairs, and cried for like 1.5mins. It blended in with the rain, I'm sure 😊. Then I splurged on a taxi and vented to my poor cab driver as he drove me to the London Eye. I had purchased my ticket for that beforehand, so I knew that I would at least get to do that before it got dark.

It was such an incredible view! I got a birds eye view of Big Ben and all of Central London. And it went slow enough that I could pull out my computer and charge my phone to get some pics. (Again, I have more on my other camera but those will have to wait.) I finally took some deep breaths and ate a protein bar while my shoulders recovered, and then had just enough energy to make it back to my hostel.

Never been so happy to see a building before! I stopped and bought a double-cheese and onion sandwich and got settled into my room. . .

You know how there is always that one thing you realize you forgot to pack? Well. Picture my great astonishment as I am pulling out clothes to put on after my shower and find that I forgot, none other than, my knickers. Yup. The single most important thing to pack? Underwear. Did I remember it? Nope. Even
Old church near my hostel. Old church near my hostel. Old church near my hostel.

Too tired to stop and find out what church it is.
after my meticulous lists and spreadsheets. Looks like I will be doing some shopping tomorrow. TMI? Sorry--part of the adventure 😊

Happy 24th to me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



12th October 2012

I promise the walking gets easier! You just have to get used to it and get in shape. You will be much less tired and emotional once you get used to the new time zone and all the walking! Sounds like a busy day..enjoy London! It was one of my favorite cities. Look into renting a bike if you get tired. They have the ones on the side of the road that you can just swipe your card, use it, and return it at a different site across town. They're fun too! Especially through the many parks! (Cheaper than a taxi as well!) So jealous...I miss it! I'm so glad you're over there!! WAHOO!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb