Can't Believe We've Actually Been There!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Wiltshire » Stonehenge
March 4th 2006
Published: March 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So on our return from visiting my relatives in Chesire we were looking forward to a day trip to Salisbury to see the famous Stonehenge!
Luke's South African friend Norman and his wife Janine, and there younger relatives, drove us up there on a very cold and wet day. It was absolutely freezing and we had to walk around the monument with an umbrella.
On such a miserable day it was surprising that there were many people there. We were given a audio player to listen to as we strolled around. It was good because there were certain points where you could stop and enter a certain number into the audio player and it would play audio commentary telling you the history of the henge and focussing on the area where you were standing.
I must admit that I was for some reason expecting Stonehenge to be much larger than it was. It almost looked fake and unrealistic, which is what I think makes it so fascinating.
Unfortunately the weather just ruined the experience for me. I found it hard to appreciate listening to the history as I was too busy thinking "when can we get out of the cold and the rain?" I think Luke didn't care so much about it as I did, which was good.
Not much else to say about the day really, as soon as we got in the car we pretty much drove home, but we got some really great pictures so I hope you enjoy!!
Catch you later!
Renee and Luke


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0873s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb