Salisbury and Stonehenge


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Wiltshire » Stonehenge
April 27th 2007
Published: April 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I spent my 25th birthday wandering around Stonehenge and Salisbury. I was fully ready for the tourism that is Stonehenge, and the ropes and fees and restrictions that come along with it. So being fully prepared, I wasn't at all disappointed. I thought it was nice, and still has pretty good vibes. Like all things in England, it was a ridiculously expensive ($50 roundtrip train, $14 for a 25 minute bus ride, $14 admission to stand a good thirty feet from the megalith...) but I don't regret it. There was a cheaper bus from London to Salisbury but it left at 4 in the afternoon from London, and Stonehenge closes at 4:30. It was easy day trip from London. I took the bus from the neighborhood I'm staying in Islington to Waterloo station. It was an hour and half by train one way, and then the from bus that was just outside the station, about thirty minutes to Stonehenge. I had thought about trying to make it to Avebury, as I think the same bus pass would have covered it, but it would have been another three hours roundtrip on the bus from Amesbury (between Stonehenge and Salisbury), and I wasn't up for it. Instead I walked through Salisbury cathedral and then read a book in the sunshine of the churchyard. Aside from essentially being an indoor graveyard (a little creepy), Salisbury cathdral was very nice. I viewed the Magna Carta. The oldest working medieval clock is there, but unfortunately was 'temporarily out of order.' There was a raving schizophrenic stomping around and yelling strange things, but eventually quieted himself down on a church bench. I packed a lunch of leftovers from the Sinporean/Malaysian restaurant from the night before and had a picnic. That night when I got back to London, I met Tara for some nice Spanish tapas in Exmouth Market. Like a nice auntie she also made me a much appreciated Tiramisu.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



3rd May 2007

I could tell what time it was...
..by the shadow of your head on the 'henge! Say hi to Tara for me.

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0824s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb