Journey to Marlborough


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Wiltshire » Marlborough
August 22nd 2008
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Riding to Marlborough

I left work early. I was owed the tie but it was a bit awkward as my manager wanted a phone conversation “after 4” which means “I will call you at five to five and talk for at least half an hour.” I mailed back that I “was not available at that time”. Got the train to Osterley and met up with Ashley and the bike.

Our planned route was A4, M4, Hungerford. We were both pleasantly surprised by how clear the roads were. There was traffic - quite a lot - but it was fluid, not a carpark. Much better than expected for the start of a bank holiday weekend.

I was glad that I had put the quilted lining back in my jacket but it was not very cold. Ashley was fine in his cotton lycra body glove thing and new black denim jacket. It did not rain on us. It's still not dark. Quite a contrast from last time we were here. But that was October and this is August. Still, it is good not to be dripping rain on the floor. Also, that was the first real trip we made on the Harley and... We've done the 3,000 miles since then, plus various weekends.

This pub (it's called the Sun) has come on in leaps and bounds since we were last here. Back then the current landlords had just taken over. They've refurbished the rooms really nicely and theyre doing more food. We just ordered dinner.

Not much else to say really. Still winding down from work.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0774s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb