Day 1 and Day 2 of the Tour


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Yorkshire » Wetherby
July 16th 2011
Published: July 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,
I chose not to blog last night as the wifi was 4 pounds for one hour. This is roughly 7 dollars Canadian-too expensive! The hotel we are staying at tonight (just outside of York) has free wi-fi at the bar. This blog will be short as my roomate was getting ready for bed when I came down.

The tour has people from Australia (heaps), Germany, Japan(one), United States, New Zealand, and Canada. I think that is all of the nationalities on board. Our tour guide is an ex-Aussie. He seems to be nice. The tour has a day song that they will play at the start of each day as well as wake up song to wake those sleeping on the bus (so they can hear the instructions). The fire alarm is ringing as I write this. Be back later. So as I type this (outside) everybody is huddling outside wondering what is going on. I will continue to type. Hopefully all is fine as I have just a shirt and jeans on and no ID. The tour guide is trying to figure out the situation. So much drama! I guess I will continue talking about yesterday,

Yesterday we drove(the alarm just stopped and everyone is going inside and no fire trucks came) to Stonehenge (about an hour or so from London). There are no words to describe the amazingness of the site other than wow! I hope my photos turn out. I don't think anything will be able to capture the sites. After we drove onto Bath. We had about two hours to check out the city. The Aussie and I went through the Roman Baths-what an OMG! experience. I loved seeing what I learned about in school up close in person! We then walked through the Bath Abbey (amazing architecture!) before eating lunch and strolling through the city. I am loving the European cities with the narrrow streets with old buildings. We then drove to our night stop of Bristol. We had a bit of time before meeting to walk to a pub for a drink (Sprite for me aka Lemondade here) before supper. I then met up with a friend I had met on a similar (age wise) type of tour in Nova Scotia and PEI.

Today:
We drove for three hours to the home of the Beatles (Liverpool). The Aussie and I wandered around the city in the first downpour of my trip (no rain in London). After we went back to the bus for a bus tour of Liverpool by a Liverpool guide. She told us about the sites of the city as well as the Beatles places (their homes etc). We stopped and got off of the bus for a picture at Penny Lane! We then drove off to York and wandered around till suppertime. As part of our meal there was a traditional yorkshire pudding-yum! After supper we went on a ghost tour (one of our optionals-you have to pay for) of York before it was onto the bus for the drive to our hotel. That is all for now! If there is free wi-fi tomorrow I will blog. Oh and before I go-thank you for your comments. I love reading them. Tara-I didn't get to go for a tour of the Globe as there was a matinee when I went. The workers did give me a five minute standing ticket to go in and look. So I guess that was better than nothing. Mum-if I have wi-fi in Edinburgh (our stop for Monday and Tuesday) I will try and let you know and we can email perhaps to set up Skype if you wish. My Aussie friend has a thing to text anywhere in the world so maybe he will let me text you. So be sure to check our cell on Monday.

Zoe

Advertisement



16th July 2011

At Last
I haven't been very patient waiting for your next blog. Sounds like you're having a great time. What about the food? Anything new and interesting? Can't wait to see the pics. Wish you would put them on this blog. Mum
17th July 2011

No Globe?!
I am destined to have to go to see this particular site myself! I sent Meg and Jason there and they had much the same problem as you and couldn't get inside. I'm sure they just went to appease me so it was a wasted trip for them. One day I'll get there myself. It sounds like you are having an awesome time despite the lack of facecloths (or "flannels" as they call them)! I don't know about your sister, but I am enjoying all the details you're putting into your blog. Keep up the good work!
17th July 2011

It sounds like they are keeping you very busy on your tour! I also loved all the old architecture when I was in Europe. Are the streets properly paved or do some of them still have the older cobblestone like paving? Enjoy Edinburgh, it is amazing there!!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb