Home.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Yorkshire » Pontefract
March 14th 2011
Published: March 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Why didn't anybody tell me it was going to be THIS cold?!

It's Monday morning, and i'm sat next to the radiator. I've made a start on our traveling DVD and trying to keep myself occupied as much as possible. I told Amber that I definitely wouldn't have the 'travel blues', but now it's hit me like a freight train. Coming home on a weekend was a blessing, as my family were off work and I really enjoyed catching up with everyone. Then, this morning, Dad went to work and I woke up to an empty house; And a stark realisation that this really was a return to the real world. When you go away for a fortnight and come back home, your house feels spacious and unfamiliar. Well imagine that feeling x1000. I feel like I should be packing my backpack and moving on to somewhere else, as that's all i've known for the past 6 months. But, as i've been told, this feeling will pass, and in the mean time I have to get on with it!

So, let's rewind time back to Perth airport on the evening of the 11th. Amber checked in for her 11.45pm flight, then we had to wait for an hour until I could check in for my 2am flight. Ambers flight has began to board, so we decided to semi say our goodbyes, although i'd told Amber i'd definitely be there at her gate waving her off. So, in tears, Amber headed for the gate and told me she'd be the last one to board. I checked my bag in, ran through immigration and sprinted for Gate 1 in a sweat! Amber had already boarded the flight. I then stood motionless and watched the South African Airways plane taxi the runway and head for the night skies. It almost felt like I was in a film, like the cameras were rolling behind me as I realised that this really was the end of an absolutely phenomenal 6 months. Everything i've done, Amber's done. We've walked the exact same ground for 6 months, we've experienced the same emotions and experiences, and the only difference is our next destination. I'd never felt as lost as at that moment. All I had to do was board my flight, but it felt like the hardest task i'd ever done. I had a momentary thought that maybe I could sneak on a plane to South Africa and meet Amber in Johannesburg! In hindsight, it was probably a blessing that we didn't meet at the gate as we would've been even more upset.

So, the emotional rollercoaster continued on the flight from Perth to Singapore as I tried to re-adjust to not seeing my best mate sat next to me with a Lonely Planet guide in her hand. The flights were great, 20 minutes early in to Singapore and half an hour early in to Heathrow. As we touched down at Heathrow, my feeling of emptiness became a feeling of excitement as I knew my brother and me old man would be waiting at the exit. I rushed off the plane, grabbed my backpack and headed out. It was a great feeling to see them both, and they'd even come dressed in Sheffield Wednesday shirts for me! We headed up the A1 and the first stop was the pub for a pint! Standard! We then headed home and the front room had been decorated in Christmas trimmings for me! Linda told me that we'd celebrate christmas when I returned but I didn't know she was actually serious! Had a lovely roast and a wonderful evening.

The rest of my time has been spent catching up with everyone, and now i'm immersing myself in our traveling DVD so I still feel like i'm actually traveling!!

Amber - Keep living the dream, i'm ridiculously jealous of both of you!!


Thank you all for taking interest in our blog - It's been an absolute pleasure to do this and I think it's been more than worth it.


All that's left for me to do is count down the days until my best mate gets home.


Love to all!!


Mat x

Advertisement



14th March 2011

stop!
stop with the emotional messages...im permanently in tears with you two! xxx
19th March 2011

Thank you
Hello Matt, Amber, Well, I think you would find it strange to have a total stranger to write to you. Just want to let you know that I had been following your blog in your entire journey. I can't recall exactly how I stumbled upon reading your blog at the first place. But it started off with your jorney in India. I read through your India posting and found it amusing on some of your remarks in describing your journey. So I read on. Then I ever since I have became your loyal travelling blog reader. Just want to send you botha a thank you note to let you know I do enjoy reading your blog as much as you guys enjoying the journey. Wishing you both best of luck and more chances to travel in life. And remember to continue blogging. You did good. cheers, Janice

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 52; dbt: 0.084s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb