Departure


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Sussex » Gatwick Airport
February 4th 2011
Published: February 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I remeber the day I left very clearly, not a hazy memory from nearly 4 months ago. I left home at 7pm and it was already dark. The temperature gage in the car read 3C, it had been an unusually sunny but cold October. From home it was a 40 minute drive through very typically English country lanes to the M23, then to Gatwick air port. My parents drove. I arrived at South terminal, familiar from my many flights to Edinburgh over the ast 18 months. I said goodbye to Mum and Dad, it wasn't sad it was more like see you later.

I hate air ports. Even when you arrive allowing plenty of time there's always a sense of panic that I'm going to miss my flight. This may have to do with previously missing 2 flights to and from Germany, but that's a different story. Security and check in were uneventful (and made so much quicker by online baording passes). I grabbed some not so appetising food from the duty free area, made some last minute phone calls and waited for the tv to tell me which gate I needed to go to. Finally sat in the departure lounge I was excited for the adventure to come despite the prospect of spending 24 hours on a cramped plane. Take off was fun as usual watching the view grow from minute detail of human life to just an insignificant cluster of lights then erased from sight by cloud cover. I wondered when I'd next see home again.

The flight didn't feel as long as it was. I really recommend taking one of those travel pillows, it really saves your neck. I flew Gatwick - Dubai - Sydney - Auckland. The first leg was the most eventful endured sat next to a very annoying old Frenchman who insitsted on talking to himslef, complaining that his wine was not served at the same time as his meal and generally making a newsense to himself to the air stewards. I mean really, just shut up your not the only person on this plane. The poor sir stewards. Having taken off slightly late I arrived in Dubai over an hour late. One of my friends had told me this place is like a palace. As to whether that's true I have no idea. My expereince of the air port was a 10 minute dash (yes was actually running) from arrivals through security to the departure lounge

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb