Launch day


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Sussex » East Grinstead
November 26th 2010
Published: November 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The way out


2007_manapouri2007_manapouri2007_manapouri

Lake Manapouri and the Murchison mountains (2007).
Well, my first destination is not East Grinstead but that's the closest thing this site knows about and I'm afraid I can't be bothered to go through the process to request creation of an entry for Dormansland (Rob - perhaps you should request creation of Abingdon House as a location? That should put the poor admin in a pickle).

So, this will be the first place I land after I leave what currently passes for home. And a mighty good launch-pad it is too. Good friends, good company, etc, etc. And the fools are kind enough to allow me to land back at their glorious abode on my return too! Many thanks guys.

Anyway, I expect one or two panics during the evening about what I may have left behind (I'm sure I used to be much, much more efficient at packing than this) but I imagine we'll decide none of it is worth going back for and (apart from passports and the like) there's nothing I own that I can't get in NZ anyway.

Been dreaming about mountains again (not that unusual an occurrence). Coincidentally (perhaps) also been trying to finish the latest Amis book before I go. The novel is about relationships, love, hate, and, most aptly in this case, aging. As in so much literature that has nothing to do with them, mountains manage to creep in to Martin's conscious too.

His narrator: "By then he knew about the poetic content of mountains. Young mountains are ridged and jagged. Old mountains are smooth and even, made sleek by billennia and weather. Mountains are not like human beings."

I'm not sure if I agree with the conclusion but perhaps I'll attempt to meditate on that when I find myself on the ragged ridges of the zestful teenagers that are the Southern Alps.

Advertisement



6th December 2010

Finally caught up
It was but a chance conversation with Annie that led me to the blog. She asked if I had been following the adventure, and then the tale unfolded, and I either missed or couldn't find the link to the blog. Never mind, better late than n ever, and now I've got one or two entries to read it'll keep me busy:-)

Tot: 0.315s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0858s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb