2 weeks to go


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Birmingham
December 27th 2012
Published: December 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So, the countdown has officially begun. Thought I'd start the travel blog before I actually start travelling so as to capture how much more nervous and equally excited I get over the coming weeks. To be honest, I thought I'd feel more nervous/excited by now. Maybe it hasn't really hit me yet despite this week marking 2 real "final countdown moments".

Leaving Work

At the grand old age of 27 I thought I'd be making my way up the career ladder at pace, well on my way to a job for which I have to wear a suit, have a P.A fetching me tea and telling me where to be and when, and have "business lunches". Instead, I have put all that on hold. My whole career - postponed whilst the young person in me decides to up sticks to the other side of the world. I wish I'd done it years ago, but I don't think I would have ever had the confidence I do now to really enjoy it. So instead, older and wiser, off I now go. Better late than never.

Leaving work this week made things all that little bit more real. Despite my team's best efforts, I did not cry. That is, until the very end when 10 people came at en mass to wish me luck and say goodbye. A couple of tears then, but nothing too embarrassing! I've known I was leaving for 6 months so have had a lot of time to get used to it. Just feels weird leaving the world of work behind, a world I've been in for 5+ years. I just hope I have some sort of career when I get back to the UK....

Still, for now I know I'm making the right decision in going travelling. On my death bed I am not going to be saying "oh, I wish I'd spent more time at work". No. I'm going to be saying "why didn't I see the world when I had the chance?!" I feel so small and insignificant when I look at the world map. This time next year I'm hoping to have many more pins stuck into it!

Packing

One word: nightmare! How is it possible to fit your whole life into 20kgs? I'm sure as the months go on I'll become much less materialistic and learn to live with a lot less clothes and make-up, but, for now, I'm thinking "how on earth is this even possible?!". I'm grateful I've still got 2 weeks to decide which of my shoes I can and can't bear to be departed from. Wish me luck!



The combination of leaving work and packing has made me realise I'm actually going away. However, I think it will only be on my way to the airport that the notion will smack me in the face. Until then, there's still so much to do! Packing finalised, selling my car, (hopefully) buying a tablet so I can continue my blogging around the world and, of course, the final leaving party. There's a few goodbyes I'm really not looking forward to!

Can't believe that this time next month I'll already be well into the adventure. I can't wait...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb