england


Advertisement
Published: May 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I only have 13 minutes left on this comp, so tis is going to be a shortened version. (I have to pay a pound a minute)

Day 1: plane was delayed 3 hrs and 10 minutes due to a medical emergency. had to divert to Iceland (on my list of places to go!) So I hung out w/ Dean and friends at Mcabes Pub in aurora instead of sitting at the airport for 4 hours. left denver at 11 something?

British airways planes are crazy awesome!!!! 1st class is unlike anything I've ever seen! I cant even describe it. It was much fancier than US flights.
slept for about 6 hours!!!! so time change isnt bothering me. missed dinner (not vegan friendly) and missed breakfast (was sleeping)
arrived in london 330 ish pm. stayed in airport for a long while due to getting lost, standing in customs line etc.

took picadilly line to s. kensington station. when I got out I had a HOLY SHIT THIS IS CRAZY WHAT AM I DOING! moment. but from there I eventually figured out how to get to Acacia hostel (after getting lost and having to ask a nice british hotel worker where the hell I was.)

worker at hostel is indian
my room is a small dorm room w/ 8 neds in it. 2 swedish guys are staying in the same room. they were 17...they were really nice!! i talked to them a lot that night after going to an indian restraunt for dinner (they are open late!!) me and swedes talked about drinking laws and driving laws in different countries. another guy in room from south london, wasnt very talkative. was only staying there until he got a job. one guy from ? didnt talk at all. and one girl from ? spoke very little english, france maybe?

swede drinking age: 18 in pubs, but 20 to buy alcohol in stores.
driving age: 18
english drinking age 18 (which I knew)
driving age-17

swedes get american tv shows!! and these kids knew who peter foresberg was!! crazy!

talked to them until 1 am, then went to bed.

Day 2: woke up at 8:40 am.

went to continental breakfast which is free-however, it only consisted of white bread for toast, tea and cornflakes...oh well! its free!

more later...

Advertisement



9th May 2011

EAT, GIRL!
If you keep this up, you're gonna come back a rail! Find some vegan places so you keep your strength up. You're gonna need it! Love the blog, keep the entries coming. XOXO, AL

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb