Welcome to Warwick Castle !


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Warwickshire » Warwick
April 11th 2013
Published: April 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to Warwick Castle !

Britain's Ultimate Castle ! Quite a statement indeed !

I first visited Warwick Castle on a cold January afternoon and although I could appreciate the sheer size and medieval magnificence of the Castle, I saw virtually nothing of its grounds still under the spell of winter.

So when I revisited the place this year in late June, it was with a totally opened mind and I decided to walk to the Castle fron the town that bears its name.

Warwick is a pretty town filled with manicured gardens and picturesque black and white buildings which offers a nice selection of restaurants and tearooms.

I accessed the Castle from the Gate located just a stone thrown away from the High St through delightful back gardens in bloom and discovered the delightful Thomas Oken Tearoom, an old black & white building which serves a delicious blend of teas and homemade cakes in a tea set which would not be out of place in a novel of Lewis Caroll. A must when visiting Warwick !

From the moment I was greeted by the flying standards of the Bear Tower Gate, entered the Central Courtyard where knights were fighting in armour, climbed to the top of the ramparts to have almost an aerial view of the Castle and its grounds, met the Victorians of the Royal Week-End recreation throughout the magnificent appartments, discovered the Art of Falconary with live eagles, entered the delightful Orangerie Gardens with their flying peacocks - I did not know until now that they could fly at all - not to forget the enormous Trebuchet Machine in action by the river, the water mill with its ingenious Victorian machinery and finally spent an hour in the exquisite Victorian Rose Garden discussing the cultivation of old roses, I can say with confidence that my visit to Warwick Castle was a pure enchantment.

I have tried to capture the different atmospheres and "colors" of my day in the following pictures...

Karim


Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb