Farewell Leamington!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Warwickshire » Leamington Spa
September 13th 2007
Published: September 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've been losing my zen-like detachment increasingly over the last week. With only a day left here, emotions and stress levels are running high, and part of me just wants to crawl underneath a table and hide. I moved out of my flat today, i.e. all of my belongings left and now live in a storage place, but I'm still here, with a computer and an air mattress, and that's pretty much it! I'm getting to the stage where I can't take much more of this letting go and farewell process, it's really exhausting emotionally. Once again I'm reminded of Inanna's journey to the Underworld, the symbolic stripping away of all the outer layers - home, possessions, stability, friends, status - before she can embrace her destiny and her soul's path. On a similar note, I've been wondering whether this is how Odysseus (or any other adventurous spirit of old) felt before he went off to Troy, leaving Penelope behind? Maybe he did, but the point is, he did it anyway! Onwards & upwards, or, as the lovely Sara put it, 'Go forth and conquer'! Adventures await, people want to be met, destinies are longing to be pursued.

I had my leaving party on Saturday night, which was a fantastic send-off on all levels. I was completely overwhelmed by the amount of people who turned up, and the many cards, presents, well-wishes, smiles and hugs I received. From out of nowhere, a magnificent feast appeared - a bit like in the fairy tale 'Tischlein deck Dich' - (don't know the english name!), as people brought the most exquisite food and drinks to share. I was far too excited to eat and too busy to dance, but it looked bountiful and delicious.

One of the things I really wanted to do for my leaving party was to bring all of the elements I love most about Leamington together - first and foremost, the special people that make up our community, but also some of the creative talents that flourish here, as well as some of the different groups that really made a difference during my time here, such as LETS, Warwickshire Spiritual Network, and the Gaia co-operative. Community samba band The Sambassadors http://www.sambassadors.freeuk.com/ played a mind-blowing (and ear-shattering!) set which got everybody dancing, there was music by Barefoot Boogie DJ Mandy Kasafir, a set by Coventry Earth Spirit's Anne&Barry, and some great poetry by the lovely Clay Lowe. For various reasons, it also felt significant to have the party in Trinity Hall, where we performed 'The Descent of Inanna' last November. It was a joyful and exuberant celebration, and I spent most of Sunday morning in tears - tears of immense gratitude for the rich experiences, the connections I've made, the growth, creativity and love I experienced here; and tears of deep sadness at leaving, too.

However, I now feel truly ready to enter the next chapter of my life and embark on the journey of a lifetime!
As they say: one door closes, and another one opens. Farewell Leamington - merry meet, merry part and merry meet again!




Advertisement



14th September 2007

cya!
All the best well wishes to you as your feet start moving east. Thinking of you. Stephen
14th September 2007

Bon Voyage!
I'm quite awed by what you're doing. I hope it brings you much joy and wonder. Looking forward to the next installment! Bryn.
14th September 2007

continue to travel with magic oh delicious Tiziana.. blessings and love , kokoxx
14th September 2007

Thanks all!
Thanks for all your good wishes! I'm now logging off - packing up my computer. Much love to you all, Tiziana xxx
14th September 2007

Blessings
Power of light, power of life, power of love to you on your journey.

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 84; dbt: 0.1103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb