Drinkin' 'n N'Castle


Advertisement
Published: April 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Up reasonably early to catch the train from Kings Cross to Newcastle. Despite an unscheduled 20 minute stop to fix a “technical problem” we took around three and a half hours for the whole trip (600 kilometres). The Metro in Newcastle links the main rail station with South Gosford Station - just a block back from Paul’s flat. We had a rest for an hour or so then went up the road to ASDA to get supplies for Paul’s 30th that night. I also grabbed a pork pie - no one does pork pies like the poms.

We started drinking around 1800 and went out to a pub near the Central Station then a club across the road until around 0200 before getting a cab home. I only brought one jacket with me for the whole trip - a McLaren one that Paul deemed unsuitable for a Saturday night in Newcastle - so I was out at 0200 in near freezing temperatures in only a short sleeved polo shirt. I did try one of Paul’s jackets on but either Paul has shrunk or I have grown in the last few years - I fear it is the latter.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb