Day 16 - London to Guildford, England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey » Guildford
September 2nd 2006
Published: September 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Saturday September 2nd, 2006
Day 16
London to Guildford, England

I was able to sleep-in a bit today, it was raining again so I decided to stay in bed a bit longer. Nick had taken the day off work so we decided to take a trip out to see the Cutty Sark and the Royal Observatory at Greenwich. So we jumped on the tube and made our way out there.
On our way to check out the Cutty Sark first we stopped off at some market stalls. They weren't very impressive because it was early and they were still setting up so we moved on and around the corner to the Cutty Sark.
The Cutty Sark was built in 1896 and was one of the last sailing clippers to be built, and it is the only classic clipper still surviving and has been preserved as a museum ship.
After the Cutty Sark we moved on to the Royal Observatory. It was commissioned in 1675 by King Charles II. Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) was at one time based on the time observations made at Greenwich until 1954. Thereafter, GMT was calculated from observations made at other observatories which are still active.
After spending time walking around the observatory, taking some photos, Nick and I made our way back to his place where I packed up my belongings to make my way out to Clapham Station where I got picked up by Chris and his mate to go back to Guildford for our day trip to Windsor tomorrow. When we got back to Guildford we called in at his cricket club where I met some of his mates then his dad came and picked us up to go back to their place. We watched some TV, I had a chat with his family and then it was time for bed even though I would get a little bit of a sleep-in in the morning.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb