9th Sept - Guildford


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey » Guildford
September 9th 2008
Published: September 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Town ClockThe Town ClockThe Town Clock

Built in 1683 and still working!
We survived our first week here in England. And our 9 out of 10 days of rain. And our jackets have never been used so much before!

My work is going well so far. I still haven’t done any actual auditing work, but that’s OK, at least I’ve got other work to do.

Daniel is still looking for a job. The area is not really industrial, so he’s having to look outside our town. Hopefully he’ll find something soon as it’s gets a bit frustrating for him. Although I’m quite enjoying having a house husband and getting my dinner cooked for me every night!

Daniel bought a bike. It’s orange and it’s steel and that’s about all I know.

Last weekend we didn’t do too much on the Saturday, as it was raining, again. But on the Sunday we went to church in the morning and in the afternoon went on a free walking tour of Guildford. It was quite interesting to learn about the history of the town and some of the historic sites. I also learned that Guildford was the town where the writer of Alice in Wonderland lived and is buried.

Next weekend
The Castle of GuildfordThe Castle of GuildfordThe Castle of Guildford

you can see where the castle used to go up to on the outside
we are going to view some of the sights as it’s a ‘heritage’ weekend so most of the historical buildings have free entry! Excellent score for these Dutchies waiting for our visa to come through or my pay-cheque!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The gardens at the castleThe gardens at the castle
The gardens at the castle

This weekend they are all being ripped out for the next season. such a shame.
Playing Card GatesPlaying Card Gates
Playing Card Gates

especially for B.McGee


9th September 2008

Love to hear from you both
Hi Daniel and Monique, I love reading about your adventures. For me it's allmost like being there. Class is going well. We have just gone through Rick Warren's 40 days of Community and it was really great. There is a buzz of excitement running through the Church. Miss you both Yours in Christ Jason Dalziel Snr.
10th September 2008

Jason
Hi Jason - we just caught up with Dion yesterday and heard the 40 days were going well - that's great to hear. Have a great day.
18th September 2008

Hi Dan and Mons, Yay for gates that have playing card suits on them!! Sorry it's taken me so long to comment - I think I missed this travel blog entry somehow. But I now have a new idea for how I think the footer of my bed should look. Instead of just a heart, how about a heart, diamond, spade and club? I'm sure Rebecca would love the idea too :) Anyway, I hope you guys are well and that the settling in is ok. I also hope you keep having cool adventures and discover new things.

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0786s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb