We're home (for the next 3 months)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey » Guildford
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Our flatOur flatOur flat

Ours is second level, in the middle of that pile of flats, at the back
Hi all,

A quick update to let you know we arrived safetly here in Guildford on Sunday morning.

We have a nice wee flat in Guildford. It's pretty small - but that's to be expected over here. The kitchen is hidden behind fold-away doors in the lounge - so it's pretty tiny. The place has a spare bedroom with a double/queen bed - so it anyone wants to come and visit you are most welcome to come! Except we can't have more then 2 visitors otherwise you'll have to sit on the ground as we only have one couch and one seat!

We meet two of our neighbours yesterday (we are the second level of about 3 levels of flats - 2 flats on each level. One neighbour came to complain about the noise of the neighbour above him, to see if we were annoyed too, and the other neigbour came to complain because our shower was leaking into his bathroom down below!

My work is going well so far. The people here are friendly - however I will never be able to remember all their names - I think there's about 200 people working here. I've done my training and now I'm pretty much sitting around prenting to be busy as they don't really have any work for me yet. At least I don't have to do filing like the graduates here - been there, done that! I am actually looking over previous audit files so I have an idea of what I'm supposed to be doing.

Our flat is about a 20 minute walk to work - and today, suprise, suprise, it was raining! So I was thouroughly dripping when I arrived at work. However I did manage to get a free Baker Tilly umbrella, which I'm sure will be used heaps! I do have my jacket - however that only protects the top half.

Daniel has been looking for jobs. He found 3 bike shops, one of which is hiring mechanical staff. He is going to go back today to speak to the manager. Otherwise there is an industrial area near the bike shop which he is also checking out today. That area is about a 50 minute walk from our flat so he will need to get a bike or the bus if he finds a job there.

Well, lunch
The KitchenThe KitchenThe Kitchen

yip...that's it...behind the cupboard
is almost over, so I better wrap it up there. We will put some more photos on for you all when we get a chance.

Mum and Dad B have just emailed and said they have arrived in Singapore - so look out Holland - they're on their way!

Bye


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



4th September 2008

We're getting closer!
Hi guys. Well Monique - time telling, spelling and reading made up words like they mean something - you must have had a great education! Ah well - it is all to keep you thinking. We have made it to the homeland and all is well. Will try to get one of those croquets too. Tante Anna keeps trying to give me food but I decline. I went on Oom Arjen's bike today - first time in 12 years - rattles the bones a bit but I didn't fall off. We would like to take you up on your offer of accommodation soon. Love Dad

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb