First monthly update


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey » Godalming
December 2nd 2009
Published: December 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Hi folks,
Well I'm one month into a possible one year carreer break.

I didn't realise there would be so much time taken up preparing for such an adventure. I always had this romantic idea that I would turn up at Gatwick airport and then decide where I was going, but you need visas and money and apex tickets, etc.. anyway at least I've decided where I'm going. I'm off to Miami first. It's around 78 degrees there and the best time to visit is the winter.

I spent all last Monday in the US embassy trying to get a multi visit visa, which is what I need. 5 hours and three interviews later is seems that they will let go to the US and spend some money afterall! Very nice of them to let me in. I should get my passport back tomorrow.

All I need to do now is finish my christmas shopping, buy a ticket and say goodbye. I hope to fly out early next week. I have to be back in the uk by the 28th April, but what I do between now and then is quite open. I fancy buying a small middle aged boat of around 28 foot, a Cape Dory 28 or 30 would do. They are a traditional design with a slim hull, long keel and a modest rig. Not fast or spacious but sea worthy and easily handled by one or two people. There seem to be quite a few for sale in Florida.

Next decision will be where to sail? Well the Bahama Islands are only one hundred miles from florida and there are hundreds if not thousands of islands to explore, so that sounds favourite at the moment. Beyond that I don't know where I'll end up but I'll update you next month. Have a good christmas and New Year.

Bye for now.
Bob

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb