Day 62 - Arrival in UK


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey » Epsom
November 12th 2011
Published: November 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

And so I got to Iceland's Keflavik airport. While in time for the connecting flight, I was actually going to be getting on the same plane anyway. And transiting here was rather odd - I was temporarily in the country. I actually got my passport stamped. Then no more than two minutes later, I received my exit stamp. Weird, really weird. Made me wonder what the point of that was.

Feeling a little sleep deprived, I boarded the plane to London Gatwick, a three hour flight away. My friends Jay and Laurie were going to be picking me up at the airport; and when I landed, I was pretty happy, but cautious about the immigration process. I had problems here last time I tried to enter, and I hoped they weren't going to make it difficult again.

I waited a while, then went on through. They did ask me plenty of questions, but I had an onward ticket this time, and I was able to get through with no issue.

Outside, after claiming my baggage, I found Laurie and Jay waiting for me at the Arrivals terminal. I was happy to see them. These are the people I would be staying with throughout most of my time in the UK. They had plenty to do at their place in Epsom, Surrey, and I would get to experience Britain from another perspective; that of local living.

There probably won't be that much to blog about over the time that I stay here. I am planning a trip up north to Scotland though. But for tonight, I just sat here with Jay and Laurie at home, catching up and playing video games. I'll blog again when I feel that it's an important travel day to document.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb