The night before the flight


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Suffolk » Woodbridge
January 11th 2015
Published: January 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The act of writing about myself and my experiences is a very new thing for me so bear with it, I can only get better! (not 100% if bear/bare..?)

After months upon months of planning, the day has finally arrived where we pack up and jet off to Bangkok. The packing has gone awfully, as I am so indecisive about the necessary items, the everyday items and the items I want to take but really don't need. The act of packing has yet to be done, but my bed is covered in all the stuff I'm travelling with, having limped round the house all day locating these items. 20kg seemed more than enough for my weight limit, but now I am not so sure looking at the sheer amount of all the gear. The grandparents have been and gone, the uncles have rung for a quick chat and good luck. I haven't heard from my older brother yet but that is no surprise at all as it would probably take a nuclear strike to occur for him to ring me. Just a chipped tooth to sort, a hamstring to heal and quiet drink with some work friends and then its the big day!

We have given ourselves 9 and a half hours to get from Woodbridge to Heathrow via train and tube so a looong wait in the airport is looking very likely. More than enough time to check in, get through security and take advantage of the last time we are going to use British wonga by buying overpriced beers! Duty free would probably have to be visited as there is no way I will have remembered everything. That has never happened. Ever.

The actual flight its self will be with Air India with a 2 hour stopover in Delhi. We fly out at 21.30 on the 12th Jan and get into Bangkok at 19.20 on the 13th. So roughly 22 hours by my reckoning, but with really only 12 hours of flying.

So that was just a quick update on the last day, hopefully I will be able to post again soon once Declan and I have arrived in BKK and started our 'finding ourselves' journey. See you bumholers on the other side!

Matt

Advertisement



13th January 2015

You go Matthew!
Hey Matthew I'm relying on this blog to get me through the British winter as I'm stuck at my desk, paying tax, mortgage, expensive drinking habit , keep the news coming so I can live vicariously through your adventures
13th January 2015

You go Matthew!
Hey Matthew I'm relying on this blog to get me through the British winter as I'm stuck at my desk, paying tax, mortgage, expensive drinking habit , keep the news coming so I can live vicariously through your adventures

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb