Finally Ready to go


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Staffordshire » Stafford
June 9th 2006
Published: July 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Finally, I am getting to the point of no return. I have my camper van, a Renault Traffic minibus conversion (see pictures in gallery). This was not my first choice, I had planned on a Mazda Bongo with a pop top. However, I could not get insurance for my type of trip on this van they are registered as 8 seaters (don’t ask why). Anyway, £4,500 later (£1,000 insurance & road tax) later I have a camper that hopefully will do the job.

Original plans to leave at the beginning of June have been put back by a couple of weeks due to red tape (various document & delays in bank transfers). The bank balance has taken a bit of a battering, but most of this I should get back when I sell the camper at the end (may be wishful thinking). Can’t wait to leave, plan to visit some relatives in London on the way to Dover.

Rough plan for my journey is to do a year long tour of Europe, seeing the sights, drinking the wine, enjoying the sun and looking for a property to buy and settle down in. this may well be a romantic dream, but at least I am attempting to do something about making it real. Start by touring the D Day landing sights then going down to Bordeaux. After that, into Spain and visit Madrid. From there up to northern Portugal and head south (looking at property on the way). Back into Spain, I intend following the Costas around and back into France. To ensure I make the most of the warm weather, I then plan to head down through Italy (taking in Rome, of course) and over to Sicilly. Have no fixed plan after that, but hope to start looking at the eastern European countries, especially Hungary and the Czech Republic.

Hopefully, the next entry I make will be from France.


Advertisement



14th June 2006

Bon Voyage!
Good luck Dave - have a great time! Look forward to your next blog entry :) xxxx
22nd June 2006

Best Wishes
It appears that you are indeed finally on your way. I hope the trip becomes everything that you've been hoping for. Best Wishes, see you soon.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb