Over and out


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » South Yorkshire » Sheffield
June 26th 2010
Published: July 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Susan:

It's hard to sum up the last 7mths as I've experienced such a range of emotions. I said to Rob the other day that already looking back on it, it all seems a bit unreal, like I've been watching somebody else doing all this stuff. In one way time seems to have flown and I know that after being back home a few days it'll be like we've never been away and these 7mths will appear to have been just a blip on our horizons. Yet in another way it's like an age has passed since we were living the mundane, routine 9-5 life and we've really missed family and friends. Though we've managed to keep in pretty regular contact with them and they tell you all the big news, it's the day to day conversations (that are often quite uninteresting!) that we've really missed.

I wonder if travelling has left its mark on me at all and whether I'm leaving Asia at all different to how I arrived on 21st November last year. I think maybe I am. I remember my first night in KL, I was worried I'd made a big mistake, that I wasn't cut out for living out of a bag, for eating in places where the walls and floors were dirty and you sat on plastic chairs, for communal showers, for being without all my home comforts. I am after all the girl who showers twice a day, has a huge stash of Boots products and has a mild touch of OCD where cleanliness in concerned. I wandered around Chinatown thinking urgh then retreated to our room to hide from the intimidating, unsavoury world outside! I worried what I'd eat especially as all the menus were in foreign and I felt unconfident and held back on approaching people......And when I envisage me back then I realise that I've changed a hell of a lot!! 😊

Travelling is fantastic and I think it's because it is so unbelievable that's why I now feel it's all been a bit of a dream. At times it's tough don't get me wrong. There were tears, there was stress, there was bickering and niggles and, especially at xmas, there was homesickness but all these negatives paled into insignificance when compared to the amazing experiences we were having and the sights we were seeing.

It was a once in a lifetime experience, a great opportunity and looking back on it will never fail to put a big smile on my face :D

Advertisement



10th July 2010

thanks for sharing your experiences with us/me. i thoroughly enjoyed it, and not only because im gonna follow in your tracks (at least partly)

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0896s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb