homeless when the travelling ends


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » South Yorkshire » Sheffield
November 13th 2006
Published: November 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Back here in Blighty and surfing between couches.
Slept on three different ones the last three nights. So it's time to find a bed to call my own. Up this morning at 6am to go to the Labour Ready agency. Had to fill out forms and bring in documentation and sit a test. Got 100% in the test so I think I might be accepted into the labour ready community. The other employables who were registering this morning inexplicably failed to get all the answers correct, there is a very real chance that I may be working with fools. Those who turned up for work who were already registered were being sent to Asda and required black trousers for this highly respectable employer. That's another drain on my rapidly dissipating funds, I need to buy trousers and shiny black shoes and a shirt with a collar and tie. There's no work today but I explain my situation and the kind lady behind the desk says she will give me priority. Everyone else just drag themselves out without even questioning when work will come or how much they will be paid. Poltroons.
Go into the nearby Starbucks for a vital black coffee and an assessment of my situation. There are lots of flats advertised in the newsagents window next door but it is yet too early to inquire.
So now is the winter of settling down in a home with a job and a chance to save up for adventures in the future. Sheffield seems like the right place to be right now, there's too much filth in Liverpool and Rotherham is dying.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb