Day 4 and half of day 5 - done!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Taunton
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Quick update from Taunton as I've made it this far and having a break for lunch. Will add more details later.

Weather holding out for me (just) at the moment and the going has got much flatter now I've entered Somerset. Beautiful ride alongside the canal today with lots of flowers and wildlife surrounding me. Stayed in a guest house last night with a bath and a hosepipe (for the bike, I'm not quite that dirty yet!) and a cat and a bar, what luxury! These B&Bs aren't half worth the extra couple of quid when you've been riding all day. Met a fantastic old guy in Tiverton who checked over my bike for me and reassured me it would get to John O'Groats no problems...whether I will too is another matter apparently!! If a customer hadn't turned up I think I'd have been chatting to him for the next week, he even showed me his son's huge collection of BMX trophies - a proper shrine to him in what I presume is his old room!! Bless him though, good ol' Ron looked after my bike while I went to get a hot drink and ice cream and then donated some chain oil to me to help me on my way - Cheers Ron!!

Anyway, the important stuff, yesterdays mileage was 40.54 miles at 10.3 mph and it took 3hours 54 mins for anyone who's interested.

About to run out of credit at internet cafe but will update again later. Fxx

Passed some fantastic placenames in last couple of days, including:
Sticklepath
Spreyton (which I renames Spray Tan to help me remember it when looking for signs!)
Trundlebeer
Zeal Monochorum
Black Dog
Puddington, and even better, Puddington Bottom!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 26; qc: 115; dbt: 0.1213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb