South West Coast Path March 2022 - The Warm up.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bridgwater
March 20th 2022
Published: April 10th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Rolo Cheese cakeRolo Cheese cakeRolo Cheese cake

Delicious cheese cake from The Cafe Cream Bridgwater. Every journey should start with a nice dessert.
For this trip I left the bike at home and was exercising different muscles. I'd heard and read that the South West Coast Path, 620 miles from Minehead to Poole, is quite hilly from the start. As I was setting out with new boots and other new gear I wanted a couple of gentle days to break myself and the gear in. I quickly discovered that there was a West Somerset Coast Path which ended at Minehead where the SWCP started. (It's important not to mix up your SWCP and your WSCP!). Perfect for a warm up. Due to logistical problems, mainly that I didn't check the bus timetable properly, I had to start walking from Bridgwater which added the last section of the Parrett Trail to my itinery.

So I set off on a fine sunny Sunday starting at the bridge in Bridgwater. From reading about Bridgwater on information boards it seems that Derry and Bridgwater have a fair bit in common; siege, rebellion and name change. Interesting history. I was soon in the countryside and had the river to myself. The tide was out exposing the mud which serves as a gigantic birdtable for ducks and waders.

The WSCP is a lovely gentle walk, beautiful coast line, except for the monster and monstrous construction site at Hinkley Point. It really is huge. Watchet is a pretty harbour village with friendly people and a fine statue of the Ancient Mariner.

Three days later I arrived in Minehead confident that I was ready for a tougher challenge ahead.


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Castle House Bridgwater.Castle House Bridgwater.
Castle House Bridgwater.

Apparently this is one of the earliest surviving examples of the use of poured concrete for construction. Built 1851.
River Parrett Bridgwater. River Parrett Bridgwater.
River Parrett Bridgwater.

Walk started here. Cafe Cream is on the left.
small tortoiseshellsmall tortoiseshell
small tortoiseshell

Says it all about why dandelions are important flowers
benchbench
bench

This old wooden bench was so weathered it loked like an ancient stone monument
hidehide
hide

What luxury!
Council signCouncil sign
Council sign

Seemed a little ironic to me given that the sea wall was deliberately breached to recreate the marsh.


Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb