First Week


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
February 2nd 2014
Published: February 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I found it hard and painful to adjust to my new life during the first two days in England. Every time I do anything, I would be comparing it to the way things are at home (Vancouver). Vancouver suddenly seemed so much better, nicer, cleaner, friendlier.... Then, I realized that as a traveler, this is the exact kind of mindset that would hinder the fuller experience of moving away from home. I need to keep my mind open, and learn to walk as the Roman's walk (metaphorically).

London has bad air. I'm not going to lie. Makes me appreciate just how lucky I am to live in a country (Canada) with fresh air that doesn't fill my nostrils with soot. But now that I am in Bath, things are a bit better. The countryside definitely has better air quality than the city. I suppose it is the green rolling hills and the various forest patches that help dissolve any pollutants in the air.

London is also a very fast paced city. Everyone seemed to be going somewhere, and they seem to be in a rush (maybe everyone is running late?). I honestly couldn't keep up! Back in Vancouver, everyone took their time. In fact, I have always considered myself a fast walker. But in London, I'm like a snail, inching along, while all the locals seem to fly past me leaving me in a tornado of disarray.

Bath is quite opposite. It's quaint; people walk slower. I like it a lot better than the big city. But who knows. Maybe my perspective will change after a few more visits to the big capital.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb