Beautiful Bath


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
July 14th 2008
Published: July 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

One of the things on my "To See" list could finally be crossed off. With my departure date drawing closer and closer, I ventured out on my own (this is beginning to be a bit of a theme) to see Bath. The expectations I went with were gladly met with the beauty of Bath.

Leaving London at 8am, it was a three hour coach ride to Bath direct. Coming over the rise that leads down to Bath, you could see the uniformed houses amongst masses of green. One thing that makes Bath so impressive is the fact that the houses have all been built in the same period, giving the town a special look, as most towns have a real mix of designs.

My first destination is probably the most famous, the Roman Baths. Being there early, there was only a short queue and I was in. It was very impressive. Bath is the home to the UK's only hot springs. The baths have an eerie look to them, due to the chill English air and the heat of the spring, a mist is always rising off the baths surfaces. They suggest that you don't touch or drink the water, as it is not purified, but I had to touch. It was very nice. Upstairs in the Pump House Tea Rooms there is a purified fountain of the water, where you can sample a glass. It had a slightly sulphuric taste to it (It certainly has nothing on the pump water in Daylesford!), but other then that, it was like drinking warm water.

I then crossed over the square to the Bath Abbey. This is a nice church, impressive window, impressive roof. There was a choir performing in there at the time, which was a nice touch (I think they were from a school in Perth, WA).

After getting a few snaps, I then walked across to the river Avon. Very pretty! Pulteney Bridge is the most famous bridge here, with its three arches and shops lining the bridge on both sides. I had a look at the shops along here. They were very narrow, but there was a great shop that sold the best miniatures. So cute!

Stopping at the supermarket, I then started up the hill, and through The Circus. This is a famous set of housing built around a big round about. Rather exclusive back in the day. Moving onwards, I came to the fashion museum and the Assembly Rooms. This was a pretty interesting look at clothes from as far back as the 1600s to now. I could only get a glace of the Assembly Rooms though, as there was a wedding being held there on the day.

I then walk down Gay Street to the Jane Austin Centre. Here we got a little talk about Jane and where she lived in Bath Etc, and how it influenced her writing. I found a 'Create Your Own Adventure' here, which I'm sure will be a good read for my long bus tripping across Europe.

Finally, it was to No. 1 Royal Crescent. Here you could look at a Georgian House, while the lovely retired volunteering ladies told you about the procedures of each room. My favourite part was the kitchen. To turn the rotisserie over the fire, they had a spinning wheel, much like you would find in a mouse cage, with a dog in it! Obviously the dog wasn't real in the display, but that is genius! I wonder how the dog could have handled the smell of all the roasting meats though. Run dog, Run!

I finished the day just looking around the streets, making my way back to London at 6.30pm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Drinking Sping Water FountainDrinking Sping Water Fountain
Drinking Sping Water Fountain

This is in the Pump Room


15th July 2008

Beautiful Beautiful Bath
We must have been reading the same travel guide- as I have done all those same things in Bath as you have! And probably in about the same order! I stayed overnight there is this cute little English hotel- lovely! Glad you got to enjoy it and get some Jane Austen action! Have fun!
16th July 2008

Re: Beautiful Beautiful Bath
Ha, that would be totally from fluke! I went on the web, then did a walking path from what I wanted to see. Definitely the way to do it though! I loved it.

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.095s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb