The End.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
September 4th 2013
Published: September 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Why I'm HereWhy I'm HereWhy I'm Here

A conference poster in front of the entrance to the Bodleian. There's also a nice display inside - with great pictures of Huxley wandering around Oxford. I've stood where he was standing - how cool is that!
I spent my last day of this long journey in Oxford, listening to some great final talks, and then having the afternoon free to again wander around, trying to make sense of everything I've been through these last 2 months. I went back to the Bodleian, to see a special exhibit on Aldous Huxley, and also went to the Ashmolean, Oxford's own massive museum, housing a treasure trove of artifacts and paintings.

Then, I spent the rest of my day in pubs and coffeehouses, thinking over these 2 months. And mainly, I've become oddly disturbed by travel, which has never happened to me before. Not to say that I'm sick of travel. I'm more so just sick of travel in certain places. Those places so nicely marked on tourist maps. From now on, whenever I go places, I'm going to venture off the beaten path, go the more exotic route. This trip has really crystallized in my mind that travel, for a lot of people, is just simply a status symbol. You take pictures, pose in front of paintings, so you can tell people you've been here and there. But did you learn anything is my question? About yourself? About
The Ashmolean MuseumThe Ashmolean MuseumThe Ashmolean Museum

Oxford has its own British Museum. This is a massive place that puts most museums to shame. Treasures galore.
the world? Anything. The great irony of today's world, I think, is that we're so extremely connected, at the same time that we venture to the ends of the world only to remain trapped within our own private bubbles. People thousands of miles from home, but eating the same food, and wired in to their nice little devices, to me is a sad sight. Just stay home and save yourself the trouble.

Again, you'll have to excuse everything I'm writing. Fresh from an Aldous Huxley conference my mind is full of people-machine relationships, and I'm bent by the idea that our machines use us much more than we use them. But I do remain certain in my belief that it's far more important to be a traveler than a tourist. Travel is an art. Tourism is a business. If you decide to actually see the world, than see it. Don't hide behind your comforts - which usually only mask your own fears.

Anyway, life's too short, and I'm looking forward to chucking the maps and the tourists, and only continually reaffirming my belief that true travel only makes you a better person. You leave something behind at the
British Oxford British Oxford British Oxford

Such a British photo, right? Indeed.
same time that you take something with you. And since my head has been full of Huxley the past week, I'll end with one of my favorite passages in Brave New World. John doesn't want comfort and peace and perfect, bow-and-ribbon stability. He wants to suffer, and feel deeply, and forever question more than he passively accepts. He wants to be a human... and, even if he doesn't say it, he wants to be a traveler. So, keep calm and travel on.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Great Sign Great Sign
Great Sign

Even the burgers are proper in Oxford.
High Street ViewHigh Street View
High Street View

The British version of Main Street. Notice the Starbucks? I think there's 3 or so in town, one just up the street.
Perfect ContradictionPerfect Contradiction
Perfect Contradiction

Drinking my English ale while reading a history of the American Revolution, published by Oxford Press. George Washington would be proud.


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb