Getting to Oxford


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
September 2nd 2013
Published: September 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Bodleian LibraryBodleian LibraryBodleian Library

A fortress of books. One of the most famous and important libraries in the world.
Just when I was getting comfortable, I set off again for Europe, basically taking the same exact route as last time. Flight to Heathrow, train to London Paddington, train to Reading, train to Oxford. Landed at like 8:30 in the morning, and was in Oxford by noonish. Almost too easy, and really didn't have to think about much - moving around like a local almost.

But, that horrible exhaustion set in with force in Oxford, where it really was the middle of the night to me, coming from the States. But I slogged through the day, setting up at Balliol College, in basically a giant room overlooking soccer, or football, fields. Nice place and comfortable.

Today I gave my 20 minute or so talk to a group of like 20 people. Honestly, I'm very unsatisfied by the experience. Whatever. I got up, yammered on, answered a few questions, sat down, and listened to other people do exactly the same thing. I'm not sure what I was expecting. I guess since I've been planning this entire trip around this one moment I set too high a stock in it. Nice to have it done, though, and I am glad I'm
St. Mary's St. Mary's St. Mary's

One of the many churches at Oxford. Before it was a university, this area was a religious site.
here. Quite the experience.

I'm also finding Oxford to be an interesting place indeed (to be as proper about it as possible). Mainly, it's all about the British accent here. It's Queen's English, perfectly proper and perfectly pronounced. The English are perfect gentlemen around here. And, in a funny moment of language differences, I had to follow one of these perfectly accented English gentlemen. This was the only time in my life that I think I could correctly be called a cowboy Yank. It was like I'd ridden in on a horse or something. Not that I was drawling on, or hickish. It's just compared to that Oxford accent, the American accent just sounds so blunt and almost harsh. Down to the earth and to the point. Which is interesting - the accent itself says a lot about the differences between our countries.

Since I wasn't too interested in the afternoon talks, I explored a bit, and mainly realized that Oxford University really doesn't exist. It's all about separate colleges that people belong to. If you ask someone directions to a different college than their own, they usually don't know. Insular here, almost too much.

The conference
Typical Oxford ViewTypical Oxford ViewTypical Oxford View

You're basically just surrounded by old, beautiful buildings - like this one, just down from the Bodleian.
continues to wind down tomorrow, and I think I'll listen in on a few talks, before heading out to Stratford-upon-Avon, Shakespeare's birthplace.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Balliol CollegeBalliol College
Balliol College

One of the great humanities colleges - this is where Aldous Huxley studied, and where many conference events are held.
Christ Church College Christ Church College
Christ Church College

Probably the most famous college. An endless list of important alumni studied here.
Christ Church Hall Christ Church Hall
Christ Church Hall

Look familiar? This is the model for the great Hall in Harry Potter. Great ceiling too - hammerbeam.
Another Hall View Another Hall View
Another Hall View

Nice place to have dinner, if you're a student here.
Christ Church Stairway Christ Church Stairway
Christ Church Stairway

Also in Harry Potter, but I have no idea in which film. Great fan ceiling. This leads into the Hall.
Tom Quad at Christ ChurchTom Quad at Christ Church
Tom Quad at Christ Church

Main quad at Christ Church, named for Tom Tower, which you can see.


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb