Day Six - Christchurch College, Museum of Natural History and a Family Lunch


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
January 3rd 2012
Published: May 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

While eating my bowl of muesli for breakfast I managed to break a tooth! The hotel organised an appointment down the road at Fabian’s dentist. Luckily by 9.15 I was done with a temporary filling in place! I am so glad that that happened in Oxford and not in Paris – I doubt my French would have been up to it ha ha.



We spent the morning exploring Christchurch College, mainly because of my kids interest in anything Harry Potter! We were hoping to see another college or two as well this morning, but the weather was dreadful with strong winds and rain, and we were virtually trapped inside Christchurch until it improved. By then it was time for lunch.



I had organised a lunch with my aunt and cousin who I hadn’t seen for forty years. We met them at the Turf Tavern. What a lovely pub! We had a wonderfully enjoyable lunch with good pub food and great company.



After lunch we walked to the Museum of Natural History and spent a lot of time there. It was an amazing museum that we all thoroughly enjoyed. We then went into the Pitt Rivers. This was good too, but I didn’t enjoy it anywhere near as much as the Natural History one.



A bit more walking around Oxford and the shopping areas followed on our way back to the hotel. That evening we walked down to Loch Fyne for a beautiful fish meal. We caught an inexpensive taxi back as it was very cold.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb