Last Night in Oxford


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
September 5th 2007
Published: September 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Radcliffe CameraRadcliffe CameraRadcliffe Camera

A pretty sweet study spot, if I do say so. And I do.
First off, I'm really glad that I brought some dress clothes on this trip! And that there were additional dress clothes left behind in the Flat so I didn't have to drop extra money on more dress shirts! Because then I would have had to iron them, and who wants to do that?

But everyone is *so* stylish here! You walk through town, and no one is slumming it. Had it not been for the conference, I would have felt really out of place in my cords and hoodie.

It's really amazing how much Oxford reminds me of Fort Collins! Okay, so of course there's tons more history at Oxford, but the feel is remarkably similar.

When I got back around 6 after the conference, Claire, Rachel, Mandy and I started talking theology. Some of the ideas from the conference were quite thought provoking, some just didn't convince me. Then, Lara and Jacob arrived with yummy foodstuffs, and we all ate and enjoyed (the pictures tell the story much better).

I've really had an amazing time in Oxford, part of me is really sad to be leaving!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Summer of Discordance IXSummer of Discordance IX
Summer of Discordance IX

Me trying to be artsy with the camera.
Dinner TimeDinner Time
Dinner Time

The Flat and its comfy living room.
Oriel CollegeOriel College
Oriel College

The courtyard just outside of the conference area.
MeatMeat
Meat

Lara seems quite proud of her edible creation. It was scrumtrulescent.
Dinner is ServedDinner is Served
Dinner is Served

Doesn't the setting look amazing. This was seconds before a chemical reaction took place between Mandy's pure white rug and the red wine, pictured. Hereafter referred to as "The Incident".
Squirty CreamSquirty Cream
Squirty Cream

I don't think my new South African friends ever came to understand why I found this so funny. Maybe you don't, either. Observe Tony the Tiger gesturing wildly at said Squirty Cream.
Claire, Rachel, and LaraClaire, Rachel, and Lara
Claire, Rachel, and Lara

Claire is moving away next week. Happy super-fun adventure time for you!
Mandy and JacobMandy and Jacob
Mandy and Jacob

Mandy had just gotten back into the groove of teaching little English kids 5 days a week. Far more adventurous than backpacking across the pond, I'd say.


22nd September 2007

that's not tony the tiger, it's tigger!

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb